279. April 9th…Spring has arrived….creativity is at its peak….and I’m wanting something spicy…for lunch….

“Right on Time” 2010

“To know one thing, you must know the opposite”. – Henry Moore

I had a feeling today was going to be one of those days….a razor edge walk….with a few hundred pound bags of potatoes….big puffy clown shoes…and no fear what so ever of any danger….I kind of like those days….they tell me that what happens within the next few hours…is like the tip of a candle flame….beautifully unpredictable….wonderfully productive….and full of excitingment…these days used to be called “Manic“…now they are called… “Carnival Days“…a trip to some place for a few hours….knowing I’ll win every prize on the shelf…..and that’s good to know….

I’ve been monitoring my creativity lately and found when I have something to do other than paint or build jewelry…I am at the peak of creativity…and I think that is because I see there is a limited amount of time before I have to put everything up…get ready to be the other guy for a few hours….I look more at the clock…sing less out loud in the studio…focus more on detail and batch processing….and generally feel a pressure though not uncomfortable nevertheless a pressure…to finish….and I do accomplish more….I’ve noticed

funny how we work better when we have certain things in place in our lives….I recall H. Joe Waldrum writing about painting naked…that was his deal….I’d bet if each of us were to take a look around we’d find some thing or things required to produce what we think are optimum results….I think for me I require…..a certain mixture of clarity and uncertainty at the same time…to start the ball rolling after that…Chick Corea or some appropriate music….to light the fuse….then the rest of it is all about placement…where things go…based on how they look or don’t look….what seems to be a “better” place than not…or a not so better place….but somehow a series of events happen that transforms my relationship with the work into something different from when it all started….familiarity for a time being….a knowing that may or may not last….but all of the elements make the event….like dancing a great Tango….

whatever the creative endeavor….the courtship of the work…is the slow motion process….the part like a Martin Scorsese…western shootout….the work has a life of its own….a personality that though perhaps a self portrait….has been altered and remade into a different expression from the original idea…..if it’s painting naked…eating bowls of fruit….rooms full of Macaks….wearing a fluffy lime green bathrobe with hiking boots….all of it matters a great deal…and what you and your studio look like that makes your work explode…..is all that matters

Leave a Reply

