280. April 10th…I’d rather be a cowboy…but my skill sets say something much different….

“Rolling Nowhere”  2010

“If I’m going to sing like someone else, then I don’t need to sing a all.” – Billie Holiday

“If I could I surely would”……I wonder what makes us not be able to do something….say other than walk on water or…not breath for a few hours…those sorts of things seem pretty obvious….but there are things we just can not do….without training…everybody has some intrinsic skill….at something…that if they were to hone it through perhaps education…a mentor…constant repetition they could become really very good at it….and maybe that thing is their calling…whether they know it or not…choose to pursue it or not…and ever acknowledge it or not…..just think if at birth you knew what it was that was you…what your accomplishments could be if you followed a certain path…maybe on a scale of 1-10…architecture was a 9.75….and you knew that…would it be easier to follow that path or would you still try snake charming….ballet dancing….hypnosis…sky diving and a few other things professionally before settling into drawing buildings and structures….or would the knowing of your…”Fate”….basically repel you from what might be….

I teach children 2 nights per week…and often ask them what they’d like to be when they grow up….most of them are going to be ninjas…cops…or baseball men…yet there are a few that say their going to “build bridges“…or “write stuff“…one even wants to “Think about things“…these are the exceptional kids….the ones that somehow got hold of some answers long before most others did….

I really like knowing that we have these brains that are so untouched….I’m a painter…but I know I am very capable of many other things…and they are just a touch away….they don’t require returning to academia….hours of study and practice…they simply require I change pace…..move to another direction on the map of “things I’m capable of“…what a great way of learning more…discovering more and playing with a whole bunch of other toys….

Our capabilities are really only limited by what we will accept as capabilities….I think my new motto is going to be ….

“Sure I’ll try that”……although my disclaimer is I’ll have to run it by my safety/sanity/will I come out of this intact…debate….

have a great Friday…..

Leave a Reply

