285. April 15th…Funny how “Revival”…isn’t always religious…hold on let me get the big tent up….

“Revival” 2010

I slept with faith and found a corpse in my arms on awakening; I drank and danced all night with doubt and found her a virgin in the morning.” – Aleister Crowley

my word awakening today was unclear…..I opened my email and saw something there that made the word….alive…pour right out of me…it is Revival….I’ve always associated the word “Revival”…with a room full of hooting and yelling religious fanatics…you know drinking poison and handling rattle snakes…speaking in tongues…(which I’d love to hear)…..but after a little investigation…revival is not really directed at any one thing in particular…the definition of the word revival though in some recess of my brain…I seemed to have a vague recollection of the word….was a perfect fit for the beginning of my day…Revival: “restoration to life, consciousness, vigor, strength, etc.

sometime today….I received an email…from someone very special…someone who even though we have not spoken in some years still probably knows me like no other….he was my very best friend growing up…and he reminded me we have known each other 46 years and I am 53…he is 52…..

he and I were stuck to one another like glue…we did everything together….as kids…our playground was an enormous expanse of west Texas desert….literally miles of desert to do anything we wanted…he and I got into some of the greatest trouble kids could get into…and we enjoyed some of the most wonderful things kids could as well…we were Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn…..we were the masters of the desert…he was my brother….and like me he was fearless….there was never any hesitation…..he didn’t care about the risk or what might happen…and I always knew he had my back….just as he knew I had his….we were very competitive with one another…..always wanting to be just a little better than the other….we always chose each other over any body else…and I have to say there is rarely a day go by…that he doesn’t cross my mind in some way…or I’ll laugh about something that happened when we were kids….

he and I share a very unique bond in that….what molded us as kids…molded us together…we experienced so much together….we had to be alike in many ways…..sort of a mirror of one  another….we liked the same people…disliked the same people….were usually afraid of the same people…..did the same things…laughed at the same stuff…..and in essence were the same…..

Diaz and Me…Odessa, Texas. 1986 (he was 28 me 29)

many of the non-fiction stories I write…he is a part of and if he is not a part of it….chances are he knows who and what I am talking about….we experienced so much together…..people….places…events…..it is hard to not include him in much of my writing……

so today I am going to bask in the feeling of revival…and think of my friend…my brother…..and my guess is I’ll be laughing a great deal today….I have much to laugh about…..thanks Diaz…….

One thought on “285. April 15th…Funny how “Revival”…isn’t always religious…hold on let me get the big tent up….

  1. I’d love to sit for hours with you and Diaz and hear you both reminisce. Diaz, if you read this, know you and yours are invited to come stay any time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

