287. April 17th…Hey FYI….31 Flavors is carrying the new flavor…. “Life”…couple million years in the making….but it’s tasty….

“Gas Pump” 2009

“Anything you cannot relinquish when it has outlived its usefulness possesses you, and in this materialistic age a great many of us are possessed by our possessions” – Peace Pilgrim

with the advent of spring I am looking at rearranging my entire life…..getting rid of everything I don’t use….replacing nothing…..and minimizing all of it….I laid in bed last night listening to the rain down the gutter…and felt the simplicity of the noise….remembering a point in my life where I could load my possessions into a pickup truck and off I’d go…..I’ve no desire to live that again…but there was something about have a few possessions that did everything I do today with ten times the amount of possessions….perhaps the anchoring of my life….the ability to collect things I really love to collect and admire….

I used to teach school….one of the projects I’d have my students do was figure out what they’d take from their burning house…once all of the animals…kids and family were safely out of the house….the number one thing was photographs….there is some sense of holding on to memories that supersede anything else….me I would take all of the cricket cages I have collected over the years….they are not really valuable….nor rare….they are just very special to me and without them my life is missing something…I walk by them each day usually handle one of them…work the sliding door…..imagine being in there…amoung the bone and bamboo…polished water buffalo horn…small Ivory beads…it is a completely different world in there…a world I really like to think about…..

another project I had them do…was write the ideal day of their ideal life…..and how it looked…..every sensory aspect of it…it didn’t mater how unreal their life appeared…..I wanted then to write what they really wanted to live….the writing was from the moment they awakened to the moment they closed their eyes to sleep….they had to read these aloud in class….and yes some of them were very bizarre…unrealistic and more dream like than possible…but the students that got it…really did write their lives from a very doable attainable position….I could envision them living this way……later I required for each week…of the semester they write what their life:

1. Sounded like (a particular song or piece of music)

2. Tasted like

3. Smelled like

4. Felt like

at the end of the semester…they had an ideal life put to music…with a flavor and smell and knew exactly what that life felt like….I challenged them to continue on with this process until they achieved what they wanted…and then start it all over again….there is a great deal of knowing….what we want when we can put it to music…or smell it….or taste it…or know what it feels like…it then becomes so much more real than an idea…or a thought…and it’s really easy to move……

today my life:

sounds like…….Pat Metheny “For You”

smells like……..honeysuckle and pine

tastes like………rainbow sherbet

feels like………..knowing I have another hour left in bed before I have to wake up

enjoy your day……

Leave a Reply

