294. April 26th…I much rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy….happy national Pretzel Day

“Bi Polarized Memorial Hospital Kitchen” 2009

“The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four Americans is suffering from some form of mental illness. Think of your three best friends. If they’re okay, then it’s you.” Rita Mae Brown

I am the old dog….I discovered…and the new trick thing….has some legitimate truth to it….I’ve reflected back on how I learn and have learned…and discovered…that for me…learning is a small path from the source….once I got the information and it was accurate…I never wanted to learn the same thing any other way or use another method…because after all….that’s the way I learned it….and knowing something a certain way…maybe makes repeating it easier…I don’t know….

we all have different methods of learning…and I’m certain each person learns something….retains the method….they got there with and uses that to approach different challenges in the learning arena….where in lies the problem though is trying to learn something really very new …with an older more antiquated approach to learning….I guess what I’m trying to say…is there is nothing wrong with taking a new approach to learning anything….and our process for learning may sometimes be a hinderance rather than an asset…..and I think for me the word…that came to mind was…”Stubborn”…..

often I choose to not learn something…not because I’m not interested in it…but more because my method of learning is not very conducive to what it is I want to learn…..my unwillingness to change my method… makes certain things out of my realm of learning…..and I have to say discovering that just yesterday…that stubborness  says…something about my inability to be flexible…..rather  rigid and unyielding….which is not how I live my life at all….

the three basic styles of learning are Visual….Auditory and Tactile…and though they are styles of learning there is a component that is crucial in making learning possible…that is desire…tactile learners learn by feel…by playing with the device…understanding it….yet if they are not willing to take their hands out of their pockets…what does it matter….that is my point….we all not only have to be there…but we have to be willing…..the willingness to understand something makes understanding it much easier…..

after processing all of this through my brain….I’ve come to the conclusion that learning for me has to change…really my approach to learning has to change…I have always liked this quote and applied to many things in my life…..and I think it is appropriate now:

“If you always do what you always did….you will always get what you always got”

so after some thought…I think my new approach is not what it is I’m learning but how to learn it….and by being more like bamboo…..achieving some level of flexibility and rigidity at the same time….makes the process eaiser…more fun…and new…..I learned with just a few key strokes….today is Hug a friend day…and my favorite…the ever popular National Pretzel Day…please enjoy them both responsibly…..

I really do want to learn some new tricks……

One thought on “294. April 26th…I much rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy….happy national Pretzel Day

Leave a Reply

