307. May 10th…Goals ….Dreams…..Wishes….who the hell knows…just do what blows your skirt up…..

“End of Days” 2010

“When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.” – Hunter S. Thompson

I’ve been thinking about a dream I’ve had…something I’ve wanted to do for most of my life….and I have to say I’ve questioned it this long …I guess to see if the reality behind it was actual….or was I just thinking in a mood swingers prom night night thinking….I went to bed last night thinking about it and awakened this morning with it on my mind….so for some reason the idea is resurfacing….poking me with the sharp pin and saying…”Remember me“….I began thinking about the path I’m following…..and realized that this particular path is the general direction of this dream….it plays out in the last half of my life….and I guess I’m there…..

Dreams have a wonderful way of staying like a carrot on a string…unless certain criteria….are defined that change a dream to a goal…..using the SMART mnemonic…is a way of getting what you want……

.             Specific

.             Measurable

.             Attainable

.             Relevant

.             Time-Bound

SPECIFIC– Specifically defining the goal is crucial…knowing the Who…What…When….Why is necessary….don’t just say you are going to do something…define how you are going to do it via specifics…. (see question in Time Bound)

MEASURABLE – Means devising method for quantifying the degree to which you’ve met your original objectives…..how many calls per day…pounds lost…money saved…miles walked….

ATTAINABLE –  Goals have to be attainable….and reasonable…anything else is setting you up for failure….make the goal a walk outside of the normal comfort box…yet within reach….ask yourself…..”Is this within my reach and attainable?”…..

RELEVANT–  Does the goal have a meaning or is it lip service…is this something you really want to do or are doing for some other reason….the goal has to have significance …meaning…and be important to you…otherwise it is a distraction …. 1-10 on relevance scale

TIME-BOUND– goals are not ongoing….set a timetable for meeting the goal….creating a degree of urgency thus causing action…and completion of the goal….ask yourself….”What specific actions am I willing to do to attain this goal?

I have been working on getting my jewelry in more places yet…..wax and wane about the process as there has been no real order to the system….I have utilized the SMART system before and it does work…..so…using this criteria……here is what I am currently doing…..

Specific– I want to be selling my jewelry through 20 Galleries

Measurable–  I have created a weekly call list…. that requires I cold call 20 jewelry galleries and retail sellers per week

Attainable–  Yes……it is very much within my reach and attainable…..

Relevant– 1- 10 on relevance…..High priority  a 10, it is relevant because it is how I make a living…..

Time Bound – I want to be selling my jewelry  in 20 retail/gallery locations by November 2010…..

Man!!!! the hardest part is over…the rest is gravy and just doing it….so look for my jewelry in a gallery near you……..and if you want to have a look right now here is a great places to start http://reclaimedware.ecrater.com/ ……or look at my other blog site……..http://reclaimedware.wordpress.com/

One thought on “307. May 10th…Goals ….Dreams…..Wishes….who the hell knows…just do what blows your skirt up…..

  1. Me & Clay went into Bright Rain Gallery and were delighted to find a whole case of your jewelry unto itself!!! Looks FABULOUS, Robert! We hear you’ll have a painting in there soon?? Travis and Molly are great, we love them. Travis agrees with my saying you are the Yoda :))) Happy Wendesday, dude!

    Like

Leave a Reply

