309. May 13…Seems Friday the 13th happen on Thursday again…of all the luck…..

“Part Circle” 2010

“All deception in the course of life is indeed nothing else but a lie reduced to practice, and falsehood passing from words into things” – Robert Southey

I was in jewelry manufacturing for many years…my work was constantly being reproduced by others who thought they could….1. make an equally sellable product…..2. capitalize on borrowing my ideas without putting in the initial work…. 3. thought jewelry design was “Easy” and discounted the effort involved in creating a business….4. could make a bunch of money…and 5. thought that their form of acquisition was acceptable……

I was making jewelry for 10 years prior to opening my own business and honestly had I received the raise I asked for….I probably never would have pursued my on business……once in business…I started making jewelry much different from those I’d worked for….I wanted my voice to speak…not their voice using my mouth…..

One of the many things I learned from those years in the industry was about creativity and creative people….I found there are two types of creatives….those that are the innovators and….those that copy the innovators …..each is very creative yet the innovator has the “Sense”…. from the very beginning….of what to do…they can come up with the ideas….develop the protocol to produce the work from inception to a finished product…while the creative that copies has little ability to embark on their own…they just wait until something they like comes by and they then….snatch it…..change the color call it their own…claim originality….authorship…defend the hill they’re not even standing on….and wait for the next thing of interest to pass by….waiting to grab…..

every artist acquires something from somewhere…originality is a rare event….yet taking an idea…using the essence of that idea as a point of departure and never looking back says volumes about the creative mind….those are indeed the innovators…the ones who take an idea…and make it so different and removed from its original fingerprint that recognition is impossible…..that is not a copy…that is something brand spanking….new…..

artists make work that in many cases is almost a duplicate of  another artist’s work…without ever having seen the work before….that is bound to happen…there is only so much out there…and sooner or later…..that is one of those anomalies….that makes me smile when they happen…..as they are so peculiar……

When I see something in another artist’s work that inspires me….the last thing I want to do is make a copy of what I just saw…I’d rather see if it fits into my thinking…and if it does….how can it I change it so that a small piece of that idea evolves in my creative space….the rest is discarded and the change is significant enough to be in my voice……….and if it doesn’t fit…..nice looking at….

having a creative ability is a wonderful….blessing…. whether you are an innovator or one who copies innovators…..some people are designed to do whiles others are designed to copy those that do…..the difference though is an innovator is the original…and knows exactly what voice to expect hearing an echo……….

Leave a Reply

