329. June 5th…. a…”Summer Cold”…sounds so romantic…..a bit like a Samuel Clemens quote about summer in San Francisco….except with the cough…..

“Sentinels” 2009

“My whole written history is one big lie! I mean, I can’t even believe my history.” – Dennis Hopper

it is difficult to believe….but I have a cold and it is June 5th….my thinking is how is that possible….I generally reserve colds…and flu for the winter….not the 100+ degree days of June in the Southwest….something is going on that neither contrails….in the sky nor….the blinking lights late in the evening can explain…I am retracing my steps over the past week…trying to figure where I have been and with whom I’ve come in contact with that might have had a cold….

I do recall a child coughing…of course not covering their mouth….just like I am at this precise moment…….although I am covering my mouth even in the privacy of my own home….while I was having a coffee at Starbucks….the other day…the child was one of these sort of Exorcist cast members….you know….stared a me…conveyed…the whole coughing mojo my direction…..and in essence….seemed to have passed the cold onto me by sheer thought….much like the movie “Fallen”…..with out the plot Denzel Washington…..John Goodman and the Rolling Stones song……nevertheless…..I have a cold….

I’ve been really working on my health a great deal….lately….I think I’m at that pivotal point in life where now the “Dress Rehearsals” really matter more than they did 20 years ago….I’m beginning to finally get that…..food=medicine…and the choices I make either create longevity or make things happen quicker…..so the obvious becomes very apparent….I certainly don’t want to live forever…..but I do want to live a long life….a healthy life and a life full of activity and adventure…..

I feel too it’s about this age…most everyone I know hovering around the porch light of 45 +…..want better things for themselves…and know certain things have to change in order for that to take place….it’s a list of priorities….that either get done….get put off or don’t get addressed….depending on the importance…..

so I guess I have…a “Summer Cold”….so what…maybe a restful weekend….lots of fluids…. take good care of myself….what a perfect opportunity to catch up on some videos…sleep….well needed rest……and never get out of the bathrobe!!!!!

enjoy your weekend…..

Leave a Reply

