357. July 8th… My kitchen sink has a mind of its own….and a pretty good eye for rendering….

“My Kitchen Sink” 2010

“Also, I think there are huge reactions sometimes, which are also mysterious.” – Christopher Walken

I have always wanted to be one of those people who…finds an image of the Virgin or Christ in something like a tortilla or the last crispy burnt potato chip in the bag…really anything would work…it by no means has to be a religious figure….it could be an image of Robert Blake as Beretta….or Richard Nixon….in a bowl of ramen…I just don’t care what it is….or maybe the lucky garage sale purchase of a painting that bleeds…real blood or cries …real tears…..well…and after all of these years….of watching everyone else around me finding these miraculous discoveries……I am….that lucky person…oh it’s not a tortilla…or mold on a piece of bread…or even close to a painting that cries…my hands have not miraculously started having stigmata….it is my sink…..that’s right…my kitchen sink…..has started to produce abstract imagery…..

(this is the part that will be in the public television documentary)….”I was pouring out the last of the coffee….my phone rang and I went to answer it….when I returned to finish my morning ritual of cleaning the coffee cup  and French press…there in the sink was the abstracted image….clearly of a nude  man with his head down……my mind instantly raced back  to a life drawing class I’d taken and saw this image as somewhat of a…quick  ten second rendering”…. (this is when the conversation between the documentary host and me goes into background noise and the narrator begins talking about the phenomenon of imagery appearing on many other objects)

so now…I am part of that club of rare individuals that have had an unexplainable event happen in my life….something that may or may not get documentation….require peranormal plumbers to visit the site….if it had a more holy sort of context…I could even be entertaining a shrine…where people from Poland…and other Eastern European countries would flock to visit…just for a glimpse of the sink that produces this imagery…..a small donation box in front of my house….tons of stuff left by those on their pilgrimage….black and white photographs of elderly women in tears….with scarves on their heads and no makeup….

I’m thinking maybe the sink was channeling…Picasso…or one of the lessor known German expressionists….and this was the way of letting me know….so I’ve spent the past few days…pouring a variety of stuff into the sink…acting like something else has distracted…me….returning a few minutes later….to find some incredible work emerging…..

and here are a few of the images that have appeared…..

coffee, pancake syrup, water, Nestle’s quick…and nutmeg

and another:

Juice from black beans, organic beats, curry, pepper, lemon zest, Spaghettios

and by far the best one:

tomato bisque, mustard, black licorice, paprika, soy sauce….1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder

I just love these small mysteries in life…the give and takes…..how the dynamic changes from day to day….how often the absurd…today…is the brilliance of tomorrow….it just keeps me guessing…..never a dull moment on planet earth….here in the high desert….just a bit lower than a mile in elevation…..where life is simple…..and the opportunity for great art to be produced by a sink…really isn’t that unusual….and where the unexpected remains…..that way for…a reason….

2 thoughts on “357. July 8th… My kitchen sink has a mind of its own….and a pretty good eye for rendering….

Leave a Reply

