365. July 17th….A Year of writing…..some insight from Quan Yin…and what I’m certain I know…..

“Quan Yin” 2010

“Compassion is sometimes the fatal capacity for feeling what it is like to live inside somebody else’s skin. It is the knowledge that there can never really be any peace and joy for me until there is peace and joy finally for you too.” – Fredrick Buechner

Today celebrates one year of writing…on this blog…..I can’t say I knew where this was all going when I started writing last year at this time….not even a clue….first it was a blog on transient writing…then it drifted to somewhat of my personal rants…raves….likes and dislikes about art….a brief pop instead of a fiery devastating  explosion…with my take on political issues…..yet my writing always seemed to settle on the underlying issues and concerns in my life….and I know it does get tiresome…reading about the same thing…often in just different words…especially when it always says “Me” or “I” in front of it….yet personal writing generally deals with…..the “me” or ….”I”….

one of the many things I enjoy about writing is how it presses me hard against the glass…as quickly as it pulls me away at breakneck speed…nothing is calculated…everything happens as a quick pin prick to the finger….only a small drop of blood emerges…..one filled with so many ideas…but only good for a few seconds…..then “poof”…the new thinking….the new ideas….a new train wreck to sort through…for the valuables….writng has been one of those things that has given me wings….allowed me to escape from a prison….invent a world that was not burned and charred….rather defined and clearly a  voice speaking in the tunnels….something recognizable…safe….an anchor of sorts…like getting to base in “Hide and Seek”… writing has produced…. a safety….valve….when all else has failed…..a place I could say whatever I needed to….to uncurl….lay flat on the ground and breath in clean air…..rest and begin all over again…..

I’ve been writing consistently since I took a class in college  in 1974…..a class on journal writing….all of my journals now…. are ash in a landfill somewhere…hopefully doing something like serving as fertilizer for a crop of landfill radishes or beautiful flowers….I’ve discovered many things over these years of writing but nothing like I have over this past year….the discoveries may be due to a multitude of external circumstances….alignment of the heavens…Mercury is out of retrograde…..my Chinese horoscope…predicted this was going to be a great year for discovery….the optimum amount of vitamin B in my diet…who knows….and even though what I have learned…often appears vast and  all encompassing….even overwhelming at times…..it is also very simplistic….scalpal sharp….higly precise…..and very…clear…..

I KNOW:

Truth….respect….integrety….accountability…..compassion….love……mystery….all combined will develop my life precisely as I want it….

In order for anything to work…I have to be conscious….

I can do anything I put my mind to…..yet there are a myriad of things I have absolutely no desire to ever do…and I won’t…

Following what I am designed for without question may border on lunacy at times…yet it is the optimal direction to go….

Not to pursue what I know won’t work….

A not so good plan is better than no plan…

I want to be moving towards my desires rather than away…..from them…..

….as long as I can remember I have always migrated to Quan Yin…In my studio….I have a figure of her…looking down on me as I work….

She is generally seen as a source of unconditional love and more importantly as a savior. In her bodhisattva vows, Quanyin promises to answer the cries and pleas of all beings and to liberate all beings from their own karmic woes. Based upon the Lotus Sutra and the Shurangama sutra, Quanyin is generally seen as a savior, both spiritually and physically. The sutras state that through her saving grace even those who have no chance of being Enlightened can be Enlightened, and those deep in negative karma can still find salvation through her compassion.

to those who have kept up with my blog…I thank you…those who have commented…..and left your footprint in my world…..thank you for taking the time to write me…..and share your input and thoughts…..you have colored my world…..

3 thoughts on “365. July 17th….A Year of writing…..some insight from Quan Yin…and what I’m certain I know…..

  1. you are awesome… the blog is awesome… and congratulations. Not just on your anniversary of blogging… but on becoming more and more what you want to be…

    Like

  2. Congrats on a year Robert. I am now able to follow along and add my 2 cents worth. I have been trying to catch up. I love your writing. I can see it. xoxoxox Ellen

    Like

Leave a Reply

