369. July 23rd….I’m going there too…..a short exciting trip to everywhere…..

“She Smelled of Sakura” 2010

“The secret to a rich life is to have more beginnings than endings” – David Weinbaum

My neighbor of 3 years is moving back to California today…we have been typical neighbors that have  shared a common wall…not too noisy…kept an eye out for each other…don’t really know each other well at all….but have bonded because we have shared somewhat of the same space for a few years…we will refer to each other in conversation…she will say…my neighbor in New Mexico was an artist..I will say my neighbor worked in the beauty industry or that she was a Mormon…..and that will be it…I don’t really know much more about her…as she doesn’t really know much past being an artist about me….and in 3 years that’s it….

I’m not suggesting we know our neighbors as well as we do our family….we have developed a formality…say hello…periodically ask them for a favor….do a favor….watch for mail or a package…keep an eye out for things…and occassionanly invite them to a barbeque…the one where our real friends show up…and we introduce our neighbor not by name but usually by…”Tom…this is my neighbor Sheila and her husband Boris“…yet we would never think of introducing our friends by anything else but what their name…Imagine…”Boris…meet my gynecologist friend Tom…..and his Bi-Polar…Dental Hygenist wife Dagmar“…..seems a little weird…..

It’s…. kind of like going out with the friend of a friend….the common link is the friend…the element that makes it all work is usually the person that is not there…so maybe it’s like stepping out of the nest for the first time….and realizing the appendages on either side of the body really do have a function other than folding up nicely….and looking good….a brand new world has emerged by a step and a series of well executed flaps….

so Pat…(my neighbor)…is on her way and I am very happy for her…a new beginning….with so much to do and see…..Happy trails….and keep flapping…..

this past Wednesday was my last karate class for the summer….all of the student/warriors were ready for it to end and summer to begin…..they too are embarking on a new journey…most will be returning in fall….after a month filled with adventure and things that will stay in their memories ….that place of childhood….where time seems to stand still….and the anticipation of an event is enough to disrupt sleep…eating and everything about the kid’s life….and the simplistic nature of it all is wonderfully inviting…..as children are never allowed to be children long enough…..

I think of days when I was a young boy in west Texas….it always goes to a time in November…..when the air was cold….I would sit in the desert at a favorite place…carved out of the white chalky calichi….well above it all and watch the sun go down….and everything was such a mystery…..all new and so unknown…..the variables were invisible….what was…was at that very moment…. I can remember as the sun would set the sky would light up as if it were an uncontrollable  blaze…I would sit until here was nothing but cobalt blue…with a lighter shade of blue on the horizon….feel the air get cooler….and everything begin to settle….the earth beneath me seemed to tighten….compact itself…anticipating the colder night…..when I would leave….I had many options to walk home….many trails we had blazed in our desert….each with secret names…..places too hide….each became a new adventure…maybe people to avoid….dogs to run and hide from….enough adreniline to keep the cold at bay…..yet enough adventure to do it all over again the next night…..

everything is an adventure…..the portion that is unknown…is like my new neighbors moving in….the Paranormal Studies Professor…Rex……..and his State Health Inspector wife….Rita…….

2 thoughts on “369. July 23rd….I’m going there too…..a short exciting trip to everywhere…..

  1. I just hugged this post. It’s like that for me here sometimes. It’s one of those secret things, like knowing how much I like patchouli but not being ready for the world to know about it. Except I just posted on my weblog about it so that cat’s out of the bag, along with a couple of kittens.

    I love the way you write of childhood. It is still so near, I can reach right out and swirl a finger into it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

