370. July 25th…”The People Project”

“We sometimes encounter people, even perfect strangers, who begin to interest us at first sight, somehow suddenly, all at once, before a word has been spoken.” Fydor Dostoevsky

lately I have been running into some of the most interesting people…not neccesarily via conversation…more from an exterior sort of encounter…I have talked very briefly with them…ask if I could take their photograph…and sometimes that may be it….may ask what they do…small harmless…questions…I don’t really want to engage with them at all as my take may ruin what it is I see…each time I look at their photograph…I’d rather make up a story or a series of stories….that may or may not be true or even close to the truth….

“Dean” July 22, 2010, 2:36 pm, Albuquerque, New Mexico

“Man with the Hat” July 22, 2010, 1:51 pm, Albuquerque, New Mexico

How much more different can we be…from one another…yet we have a common thread that binds us…the source unknown…as is the end result…yet we are all here…doing what it is we do…anticipating what we want will work…move us across the treacherous ice…with all of thunderous cracking sounds….to a safe spot over there or there…maybe even there…..and really it is all the same…just a different person doing what another different person is doing….close to if not exactly…for the same reason….

I am by no means a photographer…yet I really like this project of taking people’s photographs….it gives me an opportunity to see them as I do…and maybe what they really are….is never captured in the image….and maybe….it tells a completely different story….one sentence long…….

I don’t want to know anything more than the day…the time and where…

sort of like a one night stand in 1978….


Uncategorized

One thought on “370. July 25th…”The People Project”

  1. Robert THESE ARE SO COOL!!! What great faces!! I understand about the story. I would love to find the courage to ask people if I can take their picture. I’m really shy with stuff like that. It gets in my way. I feel like I’m turning into a shy person again. But maybe I’ll manage enough gumption to ask a stranger if I can take their photo. You choose such interesting characters to shoot! GREAT. Love the post. I wrote about the same thing, only I used sunflowers instead of people. I didn’t ask to photograph the sunflowers…I wonder if they mind. They make me happy, their faces. I’ll be thinking about this post of yours, you betcha. Awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

