378. August 9th….Family….gotta love them…..

“Cousins 1961” 2010

(I’m the little kid sitting on my brother’s lap, with the checkered shirt…and big cuffed pants)

“A discovery is said to be an accident meeting a prepared mind.”- Albert Szent-Gvorgi

this past week I spent my time at a “Family Reunion”…set up by a cousin of mine in Durango Colorado…the two remaining matriarchs were there…both in their late 80’s…supported by an army of young children tied to the same liniage…….ther was a well put together book about our history…when…where….and our landing in the east somewhere in the mid 1600’s….how they decided to move south and due to certain events stayed where they stopped…never moved much further than Texas….it was very interesting to see the photographs of people I  have heard about…listened to stories that were very new to me and share stories I had with them….the bond of family is a very unique tie….even though most of these people I’d not seen for well over 40+ years we shared a time that was special…and memorable….

I learned a great this week watching…being part of all of the events…I found that there are blood ties in a family that we have no choice about…and there are those we choose to make our family….the people we know will protect us…always have our back….and we in turn keep our eyes peeled for their well being….we develop a bond that has no blood…no linieage…no kinship…no relations yet there are people I would give my life for that I call…..family….

I sat talking with cousins and kids of cousins…and inlaws of cousins…and anybody that was there…it was overall a wonderful experience…and I have to say I was originally not going to go….yet my brother and sister-in-law asked me to go with them…be a part of their experience…I am glad I listened to them….

I began looking at my relationships like lengths on a ruler….some people can get closer than the closet line on the wood…while others have a certain line they have to stop at…others can move from one line to another….freely….and still others decide what line they feel best at….some move forward….closer….some move further…away…..I too am a line on everyone else’s ruler….and I also have a great deal to do with what places me where I am…… they ultimately decide where….based on how we set up the deal…..relationships are very valuable…they are one of the many things that helps define who we are and what sort of person we are….based on the reflection…..of those that choose to hold the mirror….

I awakened this morning….thinking about the time…comittmrent…the dedication…the passion it takes to make something…anything of substance happen and endure…and how often we will settle for what we think is okay knowing well it is a fraction of okay….and no possibility of  survival exists…unless of course we choose to remain….blinded….by the darkness……..I’m not going to live any part of that any longer…and I guess if that alienates….deletes…enforces…enlightens…. confuses…adds or any other word that might fit this……then I guess it does…..

one of my aunts said to me in parting…..(she still calls me Bobby)….”make certain the people who want to be around you are the same people you want around you” ……otherwise….as she said in her best West Texas accent….. “it’s like a fart in a frying pan…….never going to amount too much

2 thoughts on “378. August 9th….Family….gotta love them…..

    • My aunt is one of those West Texas kind of gals…she’s been married to the same man H.A….. for 70 years…lived in the same house for 60 years…only knows Borger Texas as home…..and is pretty much to the point….

      Like

Leave a Reply

