385. August 16th….Announcing….the 9th day of the Week….”Omday”…..get it while you can….

“Through the Window” 2010

“I subscribe to the myth that an artist’s creativity comes from torment. Once that’s fixed, what do you draw on?” – David Byrne

I’ve found….Monday has become a day that exclusively has “Monday stuff” to do….I know that is as obvious as a stick in the eye….yet no other day has these designated “Things” that have to be done…I suppose…I could make every other day that way…but then what was the point of all of that therapy….Monday is a love/hate day for me…and not because the weekend has ended….or it is the beginning of the week….more because the day kind of presents itself like a washed up once known band from the 1970’s playing in the lounge at the Holiday Inn in Odessa Texas…..

Don’t get me wrong…I am excited and eager for everyday in my life….I go to bed each night and say out loud….”I can’t wait until tomorrow”….even if that means Monday…I found Monday’s origin…depending on what origin I was looking for is many layered….This name is from the Anglo-Saxon monandaeg, “the moon’s day”…while in Slavic languages…it is the “Day after Sunday/Holiday”…..in the Netherlands…Monday is the most popular day to commit suicide…call in sick or peruse the internet….so I could be doing a great deal worse….than laundry….and TCB……I’ll just have to remember to never stay in the Netherlands through or on a Monday…..

Really and truly…Monday is not a bad day of the week…it always seems to be the beginning of something…and if all of the other somethings I began the week before are either done or so close to done…then Monday is just Monday….with its usual Monday stuff….and as I look out the window this morning to a cloud filled sky…I like this Monday….if I squint my eyes and listen really hard ..I can hear the waves hitting the rocks just to my left….smell the sea…..transport myself to a beach I walked every morning…..even  on Mondays……..

Today…this Monday is exciting……I am close to finishing a painting that has arm wrestled me back a forth for a few weeks….spoke to me in harsh words and in even more harsh accents…..then rubbed itself against me like a cat demanding canned food…. in some affectionate way…..we have come to an agreement….thus far…and today…just might be the day…..this painting…is called “Done”…..and carry an appropriate name to signify the struggle we each endured….I also have a great deal of jewelry that is getting to the…”Close to finished” stage……that really means……half way dressed…..but still not able to go outside for fear of arrest….but anyway….closer is always a wonderful part of any production process…..so really Monday’s looking pretty damned good…..overall….

I once added an 8th day of the week to my week… it begins at 3:01 pm on Sunday…and ends at midnight…..it is called Zenday………..a few of us celebrate Zenday but it’s a long story…. I’ve been thinking of the 9th day of the week for the last couple of years and have finally come up with it…..through much thought…contemplation and of course…meditation…. it is called Omday….Omday begins at 12:03pm….on Monday and continues through until midnight…

there are certain givens that apply to Omday……but rather than elaborate…….I’ll just say…..at 12:03….take a deep breath…..close your eyes…and relax for a moment…Monday’s over with……….it’s time to get on with Omday…..please enjoy your Monday…and likewise….Omday……

One thought on “385. August 16th….Announcing….the 9th day of the Week….”Omday”…..get it while you can….

  1. Robert, you give me a big smile today. Love Omday! I could tell it was Omday because I was sitting at a picnic table with Clay underneath a cottonwood tree at Heritage Farm @ the BioPark, looking out at the barn, listening to the sounds, picking out the ones that are on my personal farm. I heard some crickets. That’s when I knew it was Omday. And the Jersey cow licked the fence, even. :^)

    Like

Leave a Reply

