392. August 24th… Garage……is to Atelier…..as Snails are to Escargot…..

“On Clear Days…” 2010

“Maintain your rage and enthusiasm” – Gough Whitlam

the antonym for community….is “Dissimilarity”….I’ve been both communal and dissimilar….and my preference is the latter….but to say I don’t want the community would be untrue….I do…..

this seems to be a case of wanting both and maybe being able to have both…..by defining where and when I am choosing to apply the dissimilar desire…and where and when community…becomes important….I’ve thought about this for some time…and have found community outside of profession is great for me… a dinner out….coffee…..yet the dissimilar takes precedence when it applies to my work…there are a very few people I rely on for critique and input…and I suppose anything over 1 becomes a community…so the air is becoming thick with contradiction already….perhaps the community I am choosing is…..a community based on a similar desire for dissimilarity…..rather than a community wanting a social connection….

my experience with the local art community has been one that changed my desire for inclusion….this was a crowning moment…one that offered more by accepting the dissimilar and releasing the minimal possibilities of the local community….for me this follows the seclusion associated with the lifestyle necessary for me to produce work without a series of distractions. or better opportunities for distraction…….producing paintings is the most significant part of my life…..it is the focus…the direction….

I’ve found that my work moves differently when there are not a lot of eyes on it…..sort of like taking your clothes off in front of a group of people….I’ don’t know if its easier if you know them….or not…the level of relationship builds differently for me when my workplace is away….it’s like I have a very unique secret…just behind that door….one that I have access too with little effort or labor…..I can stay for as long as I’d like….when ever I’d like….even if I choose to do nothing but sit and look….listen to music and think of everything but the paintings….

there is certainly opportunity in a good professioanl art community…..I guess it depends on what the exchange is for the being there…..how all of the alignments feel and if it’s the same direction…similar committments and caliber of work….

me I’m not close to ready for that…I prefer the solitude and the alone time to produce the work…as right now….it really is more about the work than anything else…the rest I’m not really sure…..about

In a world of hunchbacks, a fine figure becomes a monstrosity.” – Honore de Balzac

2 thoughts on “392. August 24th… Garage……is to Atelier…..as Snails are to Escargot…..

  1. It’s a rather sexy title for this days’ post. I rather like it.

    This entire post resonnates with me right now. I read you, loud and clear. I have an invisible banner on the house. It reads:

    I’m pupating. Do not disturb.

    Thanks for the pit~stop, Robert. 🙂

    Like

  2. I do like the word….Atelier…..and honestly I’ve changed the locks….to many aspects of my world…it is necessary right now…I am embracing it….like being the only rider on the 24 hour roller coaster…and I can ride it as many times as I want…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

