393. August 25th….Anything with… “New” ….in it today…sounds good….

“Hot and Cold” 2010

“We’re so trendy we can’t even escape ourselves.” – Kurt Cobain

the walk I took last night was fantastic……cool…like fall…windy…so I stopped…closed my eyes…and listened to the sound…the wind passing me…while engulfing me….a sense of knowing there is much more out there….a nebulous sense…I know….but one perhaps….that gets me up each morning…sings me to sleep each night….so I can do it all over the next day and the next….I’ll call it some level of “Faith”…in what I don’t know…..but it is enough to continue….and rather than exhausting a definition…..it never goes stale…..spoils or requires anything to rejuvenate it…other than a little breeze and a few moments of closed eye time…..

today begins a new trek of sorts…a new direction in painting…..I know that sounds very calculated….as if I put in the memo section of my  calendar…”August 25th…. be sure and start new style of painting“….rather than a gradual immersion into it…yet it has been….a gradual ascent….more from the perspective of some batch processing ideology….of two elements I know work…now…I’ll just see if they work together…….and it feels like seconds before the Easter egg hunt begins…..basket in hand…vision of the golden egg….etched in my mind….nuns in habits…..ready to wave us forward like an assaulting army…all in the quest of a few colored….boiled…eggs…..and greater possibility…..

this mechanism of change is an interesting idea….especially in producing art work…as there is a signature….each painter has…some people are averse to that level of recognition while others embrace the idea of….”particular style“….and do it forever…and I imagine that is as individual as the paintings themselves…I see the work I am doing going through an evolutionary process….that has places I spend more time at than others…as the process unfolds…the variables that affect that process…will also alter the evolution as well….so knowing where it is going is like knowing how a blind date might turn out….

I am eager to begin…this new process…like a new pair of shoes…I’m hoping I can run faster…jump higher…

Leave a Reply

