396. August 28th….Cats and Paintings…

“Dog’s Eye Saturday”  2010

When a superior intellect and a psychopathic tempermant coalesce . . . in the same individual, we have the best possible condition for the kind of effective genius that gets into the biographical dictionaries.” – William James

today is “Cat Trapping day”…well not the actual day…but the “Pre-Cat Trapping”…day….tomorrow is the big day…..I have a ferrel cat in my backyard that decided the wood I have earmarked for my attempt at making birdhouses would make a better nursery for a litter of 4 kittens….it seems too have…and my bird house building desire has been put on hold….I have found an organization that gives me the trap…I trap the wild beast…take it to a particular center….she is spayed….ear is clipped to identify here as a non-breeder…and she is released back into the neighborhood…..rather than euthanized…which the city euthanizes about 800 cats per month this time of year…..that’s 26+ plus cats a day……that is unacceptable…..here’s the weird part….the cats will be euthanized if they get picked up by the city…even identified as a spayed ferrel….but the city no longer picks up stray cats…so they will never get picked up…and the population of ferrel cats will hopefully level off with organizations like these….or we will be overrun with colonies of ferrel cats…I’m hoping for the former…..nevertheless…..this solution is the only option available because there are so many stray cats/kittens in Albuquerque….if you want kittens…I have 3 black ones…and one beautiful brown one…..

cats taken care of…..I finally….and I stress finally finished the 2 paintings I’ve been working on… as I had mentioned in an earlier blog they were rather resistant……defyed me at every possible moment…and fundementally rallied together to create havoc that disrupted my studio for well over 2 months….the cause for this was “Direction” and “Intention”…I altered my ideas before starting these 2 paintings…..developed a different feeling I wanted to express in the finished product……..one that truly allowed the auto referential response to be influenced by a level of highly abstracted imagery…abstracted to the point of being unrecognized to the viewer…but through some designed intention……sort of like coaching a contestant on a television game show from your easy chair….your voice gets louder as you want him to pick door number one… and you blanket that thought across the airwaves…and hopefully right into the contestants brain….

this is a brand new direction for me…..generally my work is an aesthetic…..with little reference to anything….often my paintings  have 2 check boxes built into them… makes it nice and simple….”Like” or “Dislike”….conversation is over and move on or sit down have a snack and think about it….viewers of my work see what they want to see in the paintings…and will question me about if I….”Intentionally painted that poodle right there”…and so the cloud watching continues…..

I’m not interested in losing the…..”cloud watching”….intention of my work….or really even altering that aspect…I am more interested in incorporating a language that whispers more than anything…I’d like the viewer to experience a small part of the overall…..painitng…get what they want from it…that makes the drive home maybe more interesting….and I’m really okay with the idea that they saw….Panda bears…..UFO’s…flocks of birds….pancakes….and Mount Fujiyama in my work….. even if  they weren’t but……they were….unconsciously…..

Jean-Paul Sartre wrote about the unconscious mind………”THE UNCONSCIOUS” IS NOT TRULY UNCONSCIOUS. At some level I am aware of, and I choose, what I will allow fully into my consciousness and what I will not. Even though I may not admit it to myself, I am aware and I am choosing.

my paintings and the intention of my work……aligns well with this philosophy….of consciouness…or unconsciouness…..all that is left is the unsuspecting viewer….

this direction seems a very natural process….one that requires I evolve as the work does…something I am very excited about…..I can hardly contain myself….and have thought about moving into the studio…just to be a bit closer to the action…..

“Better to have beasts that let themselves be killed than men who run away.” – Jean Paul Sartre

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

