397. August 29th…My friend….Traffic…

“The Only “N” in Wonder Bread’  2010

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival. ” – C. S. Lewis

When all else failed me this morning at 3:39 am…I tired of reading….walking the house…trying to paint…my cat Traffic….led me back to my bed…..and in his wonderful way…suggested I rub his neck…while his hypnotic purr….lulled me back to sleep for another 5 hours…..he sleeps right next to me….keeping in effect guard over me…..I’m not certain…but making sure I don’t die in the night…or if he gets to experience some of the surreal dreams I’ve been having lately…perhaps it’s like his contact high…I just don’t know….and I guess I don’t need to know…I just really appreciate him….he is a noise maker…demanding….and insistent upon many things…he is always within 5 feet of me and often his life seems to be about my life….he will sit…watch intently…while I paint…..knows when to turn his head by sound…when I light the jewelry torch….he has to held a different way than my other cat…”Elvis”…..and overall…Traffic is a wonderful companion to share the house with….he is my friend…..

I often wonder what he may be thinking…..as he will give me looks that say much more than the flickering light of Elvis….who looks beautiful…yet can’t figure out simple things….due to his raging good looks….all of the genetics went there……while Traffic…ponders….he often sits and stares at something….like one of my paintings…maybe it is the experience of color…or perhaps he is dissecting it in his feline manner….coming to cat conclusions that may or may not have any effect at all……on anything…..but nevertheless he ponders….cogitates….and always responds with a series of sounds when I say “What” coupled with a degree of great surprise…..he and I have developed rituals over the years…..he is the first out of bed in the morning…walking briskly down the hall…excited about something….looking back to make sure I am close at his heels…..

when I arrive home….from a weekend away…Elvis…wonders exactly who I am…he has forgotten about me completely in the time it takes me to check the mail…let alone a weekend……… and we go through a re-acquaintance process….while Traffic will act as if I’ve never been gone…and though he is aware there is some “Shift” in things…..he is oblivious to my excitement about seeing him…and the entire hoopla I engage in….he sits…looks at me….sort of says without saying…..”Oh…it’s you again”…I know it’s in a somewhat of a turn of the century British accent…influenced by a life spent in India……and he….slowly walks down the hall….making a particular…”chirping” noise…that calls Elvis away from my attention…and reminds him they still have 20 more hours of sleeping to do…..before …..

I would love to be Traffic for a day…..he is always happy…..periodically he will race through the house…with a rather….possesed expression…then instantly return to calm as if the demon just left his body…..he loves to eat string……and overall has an existence that is the epitome of relaxation and rest….he has a wonderfully twisted side….I’ve seen him hop on his back legs down the hall as if he’s really trying to walk…..and not going to show us until he has perfected it…..he will bristle up for no reason…walk sideways and act as if there is an enemy directly in his sights….stop return to normal and act as if nothing happened….he is 11 years old this year….and very spry for an old man…..

I’ve heard our pets are also the reflection of ourselves…..that in mind….I am concerned……

Traffic… before his 8:35 am nap

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “397. August 29th…My friend….Traffic…

  1. Than you….Traffic has been a wonderful addition to my life for the past decade…he is an unpredictable little guy….but always there…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

