419. September 24th…Does…. “Non-Opposite” ……mean…..the same?…I like… “Non-Undead” ….it clearly means you’re not a Zombie….

“I was born a Non-Conformist” 2010

“There are three side effects of acid: enhanced long-term memory, decreased short-term memory, and I forget the third.” – Timothy Leary

I remember the first bicycle I ever had….it was very small and was made in England….sort of a glossy brick-red with some interesting stickers on it….my brother called it an “English Racer”…just by the name…I felt there was a quality to the bike that had yet to be exploited…and it was my destiny to discover what the abilities of boy and bike were capable of….the bicycle was broken beyond repair in less than 3 weeks….due to a rather…..over zealous desire to push the limits of what could be endured on two wheels…my next bicycle…epitomized….the word “Groovy”….metalic purple…with a white tuck and roll banana seat….high chrome sissy bar….and a new development called a “Drag Brake”….completely designed for the aesthetic…as the functional quality was much like using your heels as brakes for stopping an automobile….but damn did it look good…a handle with a series of pre-designated slots that engage the brakes…to absolutely no avail….. unless the bike was entirely stationary…there was a slight…hint of resistance….

in the summer of 1967…I heard the Rolling Stones…song… “Paint it Black”…that song altered every way I thought about anything….

well today may be one of those days…and as I say that I’m not certain exactly what “One of those days” really means…other than I should probably pay more attention…wear my glasses…..and ignore the distractions as well as the deep conversations….I mean after all it is Friday…and as nebulous as that is…I may be trying to apply that to my thinking….and find some crevasse to begin chipping away at…until there is a large enough space to squeeze myself in to….where it becomes impossible to pull me out….who knows….or maybe it’s just the opposite…and in 12 hours…I’ll be getting married to a woman I met just 6 hours before….that…..and the roller coaster is getting cranked up a few notches….the sun is setting….and I’m holding not 1 but two turkey legs in my hands…and thinking….”Aint life grand“…..

I have always like words with “Non“…preceding them….and I think because…in order to be called a “Non” anything…the person calling you that has to really feel you are the antithesis of the original thing…and I like that….being a “Non“…..anything is like being a  Highlander…wearing a kilt…..and maybe a tie….or even a bow tie…..seems really out of the ordinary unless it’s not…..and those of you who know what I mean…know exactly what I mean…..but really the “Non“…anything has a great deal of power….because it clearly says….you are not “That“…but doesn’t say what you are….so you could be “Non -Religious“…but spiritual…..and it even says what you are not…..but defines what you could very well be….by the process of elimination…..example….”I am a Non-Conformist“….so that says you don’t conform to some things…but you do conform to some things…..

I think it would be interesting to describe who we are by what we are not….that really defines who we are….with no questions…so when I meet someone…I’ll say:

Hi my name is Robert…( that’s the only Non – Non…I’ll be saying) I am  Non-republican….a Non-Minority- originally a Non-Westerner…. with Non-Conformists attitudes and beliefs….I prefer a Non-Humid climate……I am definitely Non-Religious….a Non Fundamentalist and have a Non- Creationist belief…. I feel that living a Non-Spiritual life may very well offer a void….I am clearly Non-bimillennophobic….and when it comes to spontinaity…I’m as Non-Undead as they get…..

I don’t know if this increases or decreases chances of anything…but I’d rather be a  “Non-Anything” than just a “Thing

“I don’t even call it violence when it’s in self defense; I call it intelligence.” – Malcolm X

enjoy your Friday…..

4 thoughts on “419. September 24th…Does…. “Non-Opposite” ……mean…..the same?…I like… “Non-Undead” ….it clearly means you’re not a Zombie….

  1. LOVE the photo, Robert! That’s got to be you in the yellow! This picture reminds me of Clay’s high school graduation class photo where all the boys had carnations on their right lapels except for Clay’s, his was on the left. =^)

    God loves nonconformists best because we exemplify that biblical bit about being made in God’s image. I’m pretty sure it’s meant to be a matter of spirit, otherwise our groin areas would be like Barbi & Ken’s .

    Thank you thank you thank you for writing! Thank you for creating!!

    Like

    • That is me…I actually manipulated this to make the shirt yellow….we had to wear uniforms at the Parish school I attended with no exceptions or it was death by crucifiction…we looked like clones…..so the idea of non-conformity was installed in me at an early age….Thanks for the comments….

      Like

Leave a Reply

