422. September 29th…Doing that Voodoo….that we do…..

“No More ‘Thank you Come Again’.” 2010

“Ever more people today have the means to live, but no meaning to live for.” – Viktor E. Frankl

I am setting out in some wonderful new directions lately…adventures I have been interested in….and finally we have opted to meet and make it all work….or at least see how it works…..

as a painter….there is a trap of definability of work….something that has a presence that oozes the artists style….that after a few views of a few paintings…everything is pretty much going to look similar or have a signature that is clearly that of the artist….from the side of sales and representation…that is perfect…yet from the position of the painter….the work becomes a continual exploration of the same work with…little variations that are small vacations but it’s…..always the same hotel….

by definition repeating similar processes will give similar results…..and even changing that process….will often give a personal “Chop” that no mater what…it is the handwriting of the artist…something that may venture into figurative and landscape paintings as well as explorations into abstraction and non-objective work….from the same artist…..and there might not be a thing that can be done to change that…..or if changing that is even necessary….

I feel like everyone…..artists find what works and tend to stay where the things that work well….do…perfect their abilities over a life time…come up with a flawless example of themselves…represented by a few hundred/thousand paintings…drawings…sketch books…and the like….things that show them over a period of time in every way they have been……in every situation they have experienced….one of my instructors feels if you are a painter…you paint…..nothing else…I don’t agree with that….and feel that if the exploration sends me into carving Oreo cookies into giant 300 foot sculpture as part of some process of discovery….then that’s fine…and a necessary part of the way it all gets to where it gets….

as far as painting….I feel for me….the ability to have slept with a particular style of painting until I know it so well it is difficult to separate me from the work is my ultimate desire…yet along that route…i want to experiment with other ways of thinking….producing work that takes me seriously out of the box…that is comfortable…carpeted…and full of everything I know….place me in the desolate….. where the wind blows hard and it’s very dry…..and I am forced to respond and respond quickly…..learn a new way to…breath differntly….see through my eyes in an alternative way….paint what I know nothing about…in essence….start…..

as an artist…I am constantly looking at works I’ve never seen before…..that is my obligation to me…it takes me out of my box….on….small field trips…gives me the opportunity to see what I’m NOT doing…..and what I would like to try….or not try….it makes me question how things are done….how processes are developed and refined….

one of the greatest things about this is….all of the new tools…..you know…..that stuff you just have to have….and it’s all the Holy Grail……

“The buttocks are the most aesthetically pleasing part of the body because they are non-functional.  Although they conceal an essential orifice, these pointless globes are as near as the human form can ever come to abstract art. ” ~Kenneth Tynan

One thought on “422. September 29th…Doing that Voodoo….that we do…..

  1. Ha! I LIKE the Tynan quote! I like how you always add quotes, they excort the post as it shines in its red~carpet moment.

    I like to come here and sit with your sharings. I like how you always have something to say that matters to me.

    Thank you, Robert.

    As I was reading, that book “Dune” flashed into my head, when House Atriedes left their planet for a new planet home that was all desert.

    Like

Leave a Reply

