428. October 5th….is there a better way….and it’s not religion…or drugs…..

“Backstreet” 2010

“Laughter is not at all a bad beginning for a friendship, and it is far the best ending for one.” – Oscar Wilde

technology is a mystery to me……I’ve given up on trying to understand how anything that has technology attached to it….that is best left to those who enjoy the challenge…..

my phone has decided to “freeze”…in the middle of a conversation or dialing a number…or just sitting there waiting….I thought it was a battery issue…..something I was confident….was the dilemma/solution….trying to take my phone apart was next to impossible…searching for the battery…to remove and replace…..I could not even get the hard plastic case that covered the phone…..off….finally resorted to the internet…and found…since the phone in essence is a computer…it needed to be re-booted……my first recollection of a computor was a building in the late 1960’s….the building was the computor…and to think that now a phone that fits in my pocket is the same thing…disturbes me….nevertheless……a “Hold the button down until the swirling icon stops swirling“…worked…phone now has a new personality…..there is a speed I don’t recognize…in this device….a rather unbridled sensation exists when I dial a number……and all is well….for the moment……

my father rebuilt antique cars as a hobby…..he always wanted me to be interested in that hobby which I was so completely not interested in that the thought of an antique car to this day….causes me to break out in hives…..dry heave…..and generally think of horribly dysfunctional thoughts……I tried working on the cars….and found I was more interested in the trappings of being a jr. mechanic than actually knowing how the modern combustion engine worked….

I’ve been broken down on the side of the road…..and a small part of me wishes I could diagnose the problem…lean back….maybe sniff the air….and say…”By that smell…I’d guess it’s the motor mount sheered right off…always gives that metal smell”….or “hell that’s the heater coil”….and slightly laugh like any person with a double-digit IQ…or over the age of 12…..should know that….

I have roadside assistance through my insurance for this reason…i don’t want to talk to the tow truck guy…and tell him what I thik….because I’ll make stuff up…or speak in a foreign accent so he doesn’t talk to me…..much….yet at the mechanic shop I become my father….my Texas drawl returns….I squat down…point to things….I know…. on the Vi-hick-el…..say things like…..”Rekon”…and “Betcha”…..”Aw hell”…..all of those things I watched my father do with mechanics that kind of made them bros….in a way….

I recall…taking the radiator cap off of the steaming radiator in the middle of the west Texas desert…….I walked to the passenger side of the car….looked at the bottom of the radiator cap and read what appeared to be instructions….”How to replace radiator cap”…….returned a blank star to the passenger and walked to the front of the truck….replaced the radiator cap….in that moment….I was glad I never became a mechanic….I was liberated…..free…from the clutches of the Chilton’s Car catalog……I didn’t care wha a fly-wheel was…or how the differential did what differentials do…it didn’t matter what a clutch plate was for….or why a 6 cylinder…has 6 cylinders….and who cared about “lefty Lucy righty tighty” ……and pan gaskets….all of that was far too technological for me…….

I decided then…..I was a stone tool sort of guy…. and that technology no matter what would never become an integral part of my life…..and I still feel good about that…….

posts submitted from I Phone

“Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” – Arthur C. Clarke



One thought on “428. October 5th….is there a better way….and it’s not religion…or drugs…..

  1. Hey Robert, are you still interested in doing a show here? We just got back from Portland & finally have some free time- lmk & I hope all is well w/ you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

