430. October 20th…Back from…the midday matinee….

“Danny” 2010

“I do not keep a diary. Never have. To write a diary every day is like returning to one’s own vomit.” – J. Enoch Powell

much like a zombie…or perhaps like tainted potato salad…eaten at a Sunday Bbq…..only to revist….early Monday morning….I have returned…

the distraction of a move is large….encompassing and often filled with moments of….”what the hell” …I discovered….I have far too much “STUFF”…and very little of it can I justify as too its existence in my world…

sure there are the sentimental things I have…and wonder why…then there are those things that I’ve acquired…that screamed “Buy me”….under the guise of necessity…when in reality it was completely impulsive…..slowly I have acquired 8 coffee cups…for the 8 people who will never be at my house at the same time drinking coffee….I have 3 french presses…a large…medium and small….doing the same thing but in significantly different quantities…and for what reason….that 1 cannot do….I’ve books I’ve read once…years ago…still on my shelf…clothes that I’m convinced when I get back to some weight and stature will…be..maybe out of style…but dammit they’ll fit….

then there are the things I have no idea what they are…where I got them…or really what I’m doing with them….I’ve saved them for years in some cases….turned them every direction periodically….and said…”Yes…I need to keep this thing for some reason….perhaps I’ll go on the Antiques Road Show….and I’ll have the only one of these still in existence“….I don’t know anyone who has ever been on that show….to date….

realizing the more stuff I have is also the more clutter in my life has been a huge eye opener…I’ve always thought this way…as I’ve left a store with bags of stuff…but never really put it into practice….I think the “Aha” moment was the other day when I discovered I have 24 wine glasses…and I don’t even drink enough wine to warrant but maybe 2 glasses…..not too mention I don’t know 24 people….and of the 24 people I don’t know of….I like maybe a third of them enough to invite them over for glasses of wine….I realize math is now involved…but I think the answer is “8”…..and paper cups will work just as well….

after this move I’ve started narrowing down my world….looking at a few things and thinking….sort of playing Ceaser at the games doing the thumbs up or thumbs down…..and rather than having a yard sale that gives me money to buy other stuff….I’m thinking of giving a bunch away to some places that will really use it… rather than put it on their shelves to say they have it…

I keep revisiting the “Less is More” thinking…..and how the less things in my life that require attention and fixation…..are…the more attention and time I can spend on those things…that are at the core of my happiness….and joy…

that makes getting rid of a medium French press….pretty damn easy… 

“The future is made of the same stuff as the present.” – Simone Weil

Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “430. October 20th…Back from…the midday matinee….

  1. Hahaa! the part about wine glasses totally cracks me up. Now I’m eyeballing the dust~covered wineglasses on the top kitchen shelf~~why the hell are they still there, I’m thinking now. When I get to cleaning that shelf soon…

    Have you moved?? I’m out of touch. If you haven’t moved yet and need help, I’m over here. I don’t have a phone but you know where we live.

    The Powell quote is hysterical!

    🙂

    Like

    • save me some wine glasses,mine are horrible and I never knew they came in different sizes and shapes …..well i knew that obviously.. but dont know how i aquired them with none of them matching…..Maybe the good will one cool at the time wine glass one by one .Im older I need to be more matchy…..that is a soul necessity.

      Like

  2. awesome post (as usual). I definately believe in the “less is more” philosphy.. and have been trying to put it intopractice myself.

    Best wishes on the move… holler if ya need help 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

