434. November 8th…Light shows…twice a day…and I still….wonder “Why”….

“Glass Graveyard” 2010

“From my rotting body, flowers shall grow and I am in them and that is eternity.” – Edvard Munch

I always loved the movie…The Outlaw Josie Wales….there is particular line in the film when Clint Eastwood, (Josie) is confronted by a bounty hunter who says he has to hunt people to make a living….Josie says…”Dying ain’t much of a living boy”….his eyes are slits….the words exit his mouth like the tongue of a dangerous viper….then we all know what happens next…even if you’ve not seen the movie….death is eminent….and for as truly hokey as the movie is….the message is clear….

I awakened at 2:20 this morning….mind heavy with more thoughts than allowed for sleeping….all of them good thoughts just….bad timing….I began thinking how every minute of every day….things cease…they quit being….perhaps they become something else or are done completely….never again to be that thing they once were….it got me wondering about a conversation I’d had earlier that evening with my friend Neil Smith about what is the point and reason to paint or write….why do it….he said “aren’t there enough books and paintings out there”….he is very right…so the “why”….maybe doesn’t have an answer…,and like ceasing to be or dying….it’s just a part of the recipe…and without it the cycle of it all never touches the tips together again…and can’t be…in the first place….there are aspects of everything that just have to be in it in order for the entity to be recognized as what it is…and sometimes the “why”….may not appear until it has to….so I guess it’s about doing and then watching for it to appear….if it ever does…

These days I am experiencing many wonderful and glorious events in my life….numerous things to really think about….put into perspective…write about…..paint….twice a day via my kitchen window I get two spectacular exhibits of light …they’ve always been there….everywhere I’ve been…I guess I just noticed them for the first time recently..I am sure glad I have…

This whole thing reminds me of when I was a kid and 45’s were popular…one song was the greatest thing since sliced bread….the other song on the other side…..was horrific…and I didn’t have to listen to it….unless I wanted to..

and still… sometimes….I did…go figure….

2 thoughts on “434. November 8th…Light shows…twice a day…and I still….wonder “Why”….

  1. That’s so funny about the 45 flip~side. How wonderful for the light cascading in. There’s a quiet and abiding magic. Your new home sounds lovely, the kind of place I hope to find one day. It’s wonderful to find you here again. I’ve missed your posts; the absence was sweet, though.

    I like what Julia Cameron wrote in The Artist’s Way about God’s gift to humans is creativity and our gift back to God is using that creativity.

    I have to say that I need more art and books and music. Every time I go into Bright Rain and see your pieces, I get a glow inside.

    I think you’re wonderful. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you….we all need more books and music and indeed our creativity is the thing that keeps it all together…even if i many cases it is lost in the shuffle…

    Like

Leave a Reply

