439. November 19th…A Favorite day of mine for two…reasons…

“Her Laughter…Could Wake the Dead” 2010

“Believing hear, what you deserve to hear:
Your birthday as my own to me is dear…
But yours gives most; for mine did only lend
Me to the world; yours gave to me a friend.”

today is a very special day for me…and not just because it is my birthday….it is also the day I share with my brother Kenneth…unlike all other days I share with him…this day is something only he and I have….that in itself is a wonderful gift I hold with me every day….today…we both were born…in different places and at different times….different years…and in different circumstances….but nevertheless…we share the same birthday…yet 7 years apart…unusual for the only two children….

in the many years Kenneth and I have known each other…we have survived many things…we have had many adventures…been many places together….had lost touch and gotten reaquanited….and through all of those times…I always felt very good knowing he was my brother…a part of me…in a way no one else could ever be…

and birthdays are very special…it is a way of announcing to the world…every year…”I’m still here”….doing what I do to make that year something for the books…I think it funny and maybe it’s just me…but I doubt it….after 50….I’ve said…each year….”I’m not going to be _______ years old and do or be___________this year”…..and I’m not really sure what I filled the blanks with…but I’m certain they were well intended….I know I will do it again today as well…forget by next year…and much like a resolution….maybe see if I’m using a different belt hole…or going to the gym more than not….all of the things that reek of a middle age….

but the best part about this journey is…..being right in the middle of it…not really being able to see either shore clearly….yet knowing somewhere over there…is much like somewhere over there…I have been given gifts far greater than I have ever imagined….things that have altered me like a brand new paint job….made me look closer than close at the details of living….

and today…I have arrived….at someplace….but just for today….

this day…all of my life has been unique…in that Kenneth and I have shared it …I recall as a child my mother would burn a candle that had my age and Kenneth’s age on it…we would burn it until it melted down to the next year…I always thought of what we were going to do…when the candle was burned  completely…that is a fond memory I have….and how exciting it was to watch the candle burn down…sort of closing one year…while opening another….giving the mystery a real opportunity to begin…

so my wish for you today Kenneth…is that….you have a day like no other….and know I love you and am very happy that you are in my life….Happy birthday….

“Have a wonderful trip around the sun”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “439. November 19th…A Favorite day of mine for two…reasons…

  1. Exquisite post here, Robert! A most outstanding birthday to you! bright blessings for you today and for this whole new year! May you be sweetly gently happily visited upon by ten~thousand little happinesses and all of their great relatives. May this year be gorgeous and deliciously memorable for you!

    I love birthdays!!!

    While I was growing up I wasn’t allowed to have a birthday (mom’s a JW) but when I grew up I left that behind. My very first birthday present was the day I turned 22, the day I had my son. I love sharing the same birthday with him and my dear friend Sheila.

    Have a wonderful day!
    Ciao 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you, Robert. You are an exceptional man. I’m in love with you the person and the unrivaled joy of being part of your life. When one has so many good memories, future events become even better.

    To let all that read this post, when Robert was born, I was thrilled with a wonderful birthday present. As the years have progressed, I’ve realized how selfish I was. The present was not his birth; the present was our lives together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

