440. November 20th..I’m thinking like Art Zabari…this morning…

“Sinks Redux” 2010

“There are no exceptions to the rule that everybody likes to be an exception to the rule.” – Charles Osgood

some days I wonder about the places I have ended up….all of the interesting little houses…and adventures that went along with each place…

I lived in the heart of Waikiki…for awhile…it was very much like living in Disneyland…everyone is a tourist…and everyone has some smile that indicates their level of tropical fun…I never needed an alarm clock as the Japanese tour busses loaded their tourists every morning below my window…at around 7:15….I’d sit on the balcony drink coffee….and have pictures taken of me by tourists…thinking…what I don’t know…

I lived on the California coast for a few years…in a small town named “Moss Beach”…about 600 people….a coffee house….a Mexican Taqueria…gas station and a well-lit sheriff’s station for the unruly crowds I guess….Moss Beach was the place affected greatly by El Nino that year….I walked outside to find my car safely on the porch…yet my driveway was missing….slid right down the hill…and left a large gaping hole I could not drive past…I had to call my boss and tell him my drive was missing and could not come to work indeinitly…he responded by saying…”I’ve never heard that one before..so I guess you’re telling me you’re resigning”…..no my drive way was just missing and as soon as it was back…I’d be to work….that took almost 3 weeks to repair….in that time…my brain and I decided to learn how to gild (gold foil)….I gilded almost everything in my house…at first it was simple…the objects were obvious…although into week 2 the challenges were rapidly arising….I gilded all of the knobs in my kitchen….the bathroom…the handle on the dryer…the rim of each glass light covering…every chopstick in the house…wine glasses…the edge of the television set…etc….I do think there was much more going on than just an issue with the drive way….

I was once one of those people who if the place felt good…it is very easy for me to just load everything up…without much thought and drive there….thinking it was “The Place”…I’d have gigantic plans….maybe compete with Odwalla…and make lemonade in my kitchen….start a small manufacturing business in the spare bedroom…or incorporate my mother into a sales company from her apartment….make it sound like we’re in a giant glass 12 story building…and every time the phone rings she answers it “Good morning and thank you for calling XYZ sales…how may I direct your call” in between episodes of “Wings”….while she and I would do our nails…waiting for another phone call…I…of course would dress for success…wear a suit and tie…walk from the bathroom dressed and ready….to my desk 8 feet away from the kitchen….you know sort of make that mentality of professionalism work for me…take luch at around 11:00…spend the rest of the day filing through the 751 page business plan I’d written the night before….and move on to bigger and better things….right over there….

going places doesn’t always mean leaving another place…maybe it means looking at something differently to make the trip happen…might be too…that the way we’ve been looking at it might be completely the wrong way….the one way that doesn’t have an exit…since we opted for no doors when we built…that room…and I guess adventure is through the eyes…the feet and hands or the mind….and I was recently asked this question….

Is the experience of doing something better than the memory of the experience?”

I thought that very interesting…as the idea of doing anything does make a memory…and maybe we have a different way of approaching it if we are more driven by creating a memory than having an experience….I think it might be like a photograph…one we can hold in our hands and remember…vs…those pictures in our heads….

“Image is what people perceive my life to be. It’s nothing like the truth.” – David Hasselhoff

Leave a Reply

