447. November 28th… Moving as fast as I want…not as fast as I can…afterall…I might miss the giant ball of aluminum foil…

“It was always Flat Thinking” 2010

“I may err in judgment, but I hope not in intention.” – Edward Blake

I remember as a child…we’d make kites from newspapers and glued sticks…suprisingly they would actually fly…the element though that was essential was the tail of the kite…made twice the length…of the kite itself…and made from a discarded sheet almost transparent from age…we had in the cedar closet….a tail…too heavy and the kite would falter…too light and the kite was out of control….there was some formula that made it work…something that just needed to be met..and once that meeting took place…all was well…

things haven’t really changed that much…there are still those kite flying days that happen every spring…maybe some desire to build a kite …and always those things too that need to be met…to make everything just right…and perhaps the meetings do or do not take place…thus everything becomes right in it’s way…or the attempt never happened so the idea burned out like one of those yellow porch lights in summer….slow until a final flash and it’s over…maybe never to be thought about…acted upon or moved any other direction than right there…again…

Racetrack Playa is a perfectly flat dry lake bed in Death Valley…when the mud hardens after a rain the lake bed dries into a mosaic of polygons… rocks move across the flat surface…leaving trails of where they came from….some of the rocks have moved close to 3,000 feet…scientists speculate a variety of reasons…and why doesn’t really matter…what matters is they move…something truly without a doubt is being met…yet the end result just might not be of any great importance…or it might be so important…it’s hard to say…not being a rock there at….Racetrack Playa….

I’ve always liked the idea that if I’m not moving towards something…I’m moving  away from it….that’s got me thinking about those rocks…I think they might be doing the exact same thing…just slower and leaving a more obvious trail….but I don’t know if it’s away or towards…and I suppose that unknown might be a pretty good reflection of self…so I guess asking myself what I’m moving towards and what I’m moving away from…might be a pretty essential couple of questions…to work on…

I’m reading the book “The Gift” by Lewis Hyde…and really getting that what is given has to be passed on…Hyde says…”A gift that cannot be given away ceases to be a gift. The spirit of the gift is kept alive by its constant donation” I think that’s true about  all that we give and get in return…tangable or not….it’s not that different from rocks moving across Racetrack Playa…or Kite flying…or moving away from something or towards something else…it’s all in the idea of motion…about the constant…

enjoy your Sunday…

“Nothing is more revealing than movement.” – Martha Graham

 

 

 

One thought on “447. November 28th… Moving as fast as I want…not as fast as I can…afterall…I might miss the giant ball of aluminum foil…

  1. Exceptional post, Robert!

    Especially that last part about gifting. If we study nature we will see that it is full of nothing but gifts. There are so many gifts, all the time, that we couldn’t keep up if we tried to. How beautiful and wonderful all of this is.

    Blessings!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

