448. December 3rd…Many things unexpected though certain…

“The Magical Fruit” 2010

“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn’t happen at once.” –  Albert Einstein

I have become spoiled…I have become one of them…who must have everything quickly…living some high-speed life of getting….in as short a time as possible…I have become a modern nightmare…or a portion of the modern nightmare…no laptop…no online dating….I still like the interaction with people….yet there is some relief in the ability to push 1 for English…enter my account number and have the option to talk to an account representitive…I guess I never thought about it….

I awakened yesterday morning thinking two very clear and distinctive thoughts…the first one was “I’ve got to get out of here”….now “here” wasn’t clearly defined….it might have meant my bed…my room…the house…the city or the state…I didn’t know…the other was a friend of mine and his wife…I’ve known for close to 30 years…their struggle…and where they sit today…my thoughts quickly directed themselves to the level of fairness we all experience…throughout our lives…what happens and often the “Why” those things happen to us….we don’t know what will happen and often rather than anticipate an event we move through a life only partially living…it….never really going for the entirety of the time we have….

I wonder if we all knew when a significant illness or trauma was going to happen to us….if we would change our method…and if so how…what would it look like….knowing we don’t have that option…we eat better..exercise…do all of the right things…with the exception of…living…we prolong our lives….to only live a portion of it….rather than exhaust it to the end like a car…and when it’s done…it’s done….there is nothing left but what was…and I think that says a great deal about what the vehicle did…in its time….

the average person works until they are 65…they retire…and begin to do what they have really wanted to do almost all of their lives…yet found no way to make that happen so a profession allows the ideas of the retired to be ligetimized…a thing others can see you deserve…for all of that work…..all of that you gave up for something that allowed you to this place of…now…this place that moves your soul and stirs your heart….that finally has arrived….unfortunately with 7 years of retirement…a large percentage of people due to illness related to job stress…require…care and are unable to do what they worked hard at planning to do…so there is this 7 year window that is life…all of the rest of it was getting there…unless of course what you did was your passion…and that passion involved living as well…

the beauty is choice…we each have a myriad of options…and all are very possible…very likely….and certainly very doable….and I do know positively we each will leave the planet at some point…the how and when is the variable….so I guess what I’m really saying is…

it’s time to get busy…..

“We are always getting ready to live but never living.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

One thought on “448. December 3rd…Many things unexpected though certain…

  1. I love this post. It’s close to my heart, Robert.

    I can’t wait for later, I can’t hold myself back. I have to be fully alive now and from now on. And I need lots of fresh fruit to eat.

    I don’t know how any of this turns out but I try to live in the moment as much as I can and if I think ahead, it’s in one year chunks.

    Whatever is happening for your friends, blessings to them. May the outcome bring them joy.

    See you tonight 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

