452. December 8th…If “Simple”…was that simple…it would be a whole lot less complicated….

“Prayer Flag” 2010

“I have no need for good souls: an accomplice is what I wanted.” – Jean-Paul Sartre

yesterday we painted windows…for the holiday…and my appreciation for the finished work came not in standing crossed armed outside looking in….but standing with a man of about 40…who couldn’t say enough about how he liked the work from his compadres…he used words like…”Fantastic”…”Beautiful”…..tried “Exquiste” but it came out something else….but I got the jist….he was impressed with it all…and I was impressed with the fact that windows gathered a group of guys together that would normally not be in the same place at the same time….each with their own idea…translation and finished product…

A guy who always has something else to do when I offer the painting class…wanted to get involved…he wanted to paint his own window…and what he did was fantastic….a house with smoke…and snow….candy canes stuck in a drift just away from the house…and green garlands with lights…and bulbs…it was great to see him smile like he did….

a level of simplicity…is often seen as less than in some ways…yet the most enlightened beings on the planet are by far as simplistic as we can get…minimal or no possessions…fundementally no attachment to anything….other than trek and path…guided by a hidden entity that may or may not…be….calmed…relaxed…and anchored very much in their way of getting further into finding their way….

simplicity is defined as: “freedom from complexity, intricacy, or division into parts” what I find interesting is most of us are striving for less complexity and detail in our lives…we want things much less complicated and think that when it all settles down…the dust clears…we can have that…yet we clutter our lives with things…possessions…that some how define us…make us what we are not who we are…I do believe that if most of us were given the option to live in simplicity…most would not choose it…it might mean  what was never really a desire or what we never really wanted to be…and might make us less than what we are right now….even though that  less mentality offers so much more than people realize….

please don’t think for a moment I live in a yurt…sleep on a mat and own one shirt and a pair of pants….I am one of those that question my desire for simplicity…and maybe by questioning the notion of it I can define it so it works for me….simplicity has to a fit like anything else…so perhaps the bar need be defined…the level of comfort established and the…idea of suffering eliminated before it even begins….I have lived part of my life simply….simply enough that it worked for me…when it did….and there is a desire to return to some level of a simple life…yet I think it is in some stage of…”Simplistic Evolution”……yet will evolve…to a place that clearly says what is and what is not possible….

I do know simple has fruit trees…and a flower garden…and bells…and somedays that require cheese…olives…hard crusty bread and muscato…it sounds like the ocean…and fits like the perfect hand in mine….

“But what is happiness except the simple harmony between a man and the life he leads?” – Albert Camus

then the attempt at simplicity……..

“When I have been asked during these last weeks who caused the riots and the killing in L.A., my answer has been direct and simple: Who is to blame for the riots? The rioters are to blame. Who is to blame for the killings? The killers are to blame.”
Dan Quayle

YOW!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

