466. January 5th…”Fate chooses our relatives…we choose our friends.”

“Squab on Glass” 2011

“It takes an extraordinary intelligence to contemplate the obvious.” – Alfred North Whitehead

It is funny how we end up where we do…in every aspect of our lives…we have a vision…maybe even a plan…and either it rarely emerges as scheduled…is derailed along the way for a new mode of transportation…or is redeveloped..remade…reconstructed…for  re-assualt on the castle…

I mean if you are a piano virtuoso at 3…the plan is pretty clear…then there are those…whose great grand father…grandfather…father…4 brothers and 2 sisters all became lawyers…it seems pretty clear what the last hold out might become….and I think that is there long before the capability of walking occurs…either the genetic predisposition…or the sanguinal energetics…when dad’s holding you above the crib saying…”The latest surgeon in the practice“…it’s hard to resist that kind of force…

I’ve always admired those people who knew what they were going to be when they were young…I ask my students all of the time…what they’d like to be…some have no idea and if lion tamer sounds good…that’s it…while others say they want to be a “Cardiac surgeon“….a “Mechanical engineer“or the ever popular …”Paleontologist“…I tell them to do what ever they want…as long as it makes them happy..and they are passionate about it…many of the parents frown when I have this conversation with them as they see me…teaching a group of 8 year olds…karate…and must wonder …”Why…maybe he’s doing what he wants

then there are those of us who are the…”Black Sheep”…

the first reference to “black sheep” is around 1786…black sheep were considered not as desirable as their white counterparts by sheep owners because their wool was worthless…as it could not be dyed well…so they were outcasts…the term typically has negative implications and often speaks of “waywardness” and so….the legacy began…

I never really knew I was a black sheep..nor thought I was one until I found most of the people I liked and enjoyed being around were “Black Sheep”…there was something really enjoyable about a party where everyone there was right on the edge of the world…and not worried about tipping over…into the abyss…it was quickly revealed that those who wore the black wooly jackets were those  I really wanted to be around…and migrated too easily without hesitation…it seemed like a fraternity of …those who looked differently at everything…those whose plans were a little off-center from mainstream…and full of big stuff…with great sounds…wonderful visuals…a great deal of hand waving and everything smelled like a bbq in summer…with glasses clinking in the background…oh and always exceptional hats…and loud Hawiian shirts…of course…

being the odd colored sheep is fine…it’s like being left-handed at a parochial school in the 1960’s…which I am…and was…or using the right-handed scissors with the wrong hand…to cut precisely…sort of gives you an abstract sense of things without all of the effort of having to train your brain to think abstract…which most black sheep already do…

and try as we may to fade to a whiter sheep…that is an impossible task…one that in my opinion should be quickly dispelled…seen as one of those tasks that even if possible seems like a really unsuccessful Evil Knievel jump…that doesn’t end well…so why???…is my question….sometimes just accepting what is…is harder than what is…. really is…

and as a child I really wanted coal-black hair…gold teeth…and marry a woman I named “Judy”…that was on a deck of my fathers…topless playing cards….but…it just never happened…and I’m pretty certain when my father held me above the crib he said something like…”hmmm…boy…this is a tough one“….

are you a “Black Sheep”? tell me about it…..

“Fate chooses our relatives, we choose our friends.” – Jacques Delille

One thought on “466. January 5th…”Fate chooses our relatives…we choose our friends.”

  1. Thank you, Robert. Reading this has put a heart in my smile. I’m a black sheep that was born into a family of black sheep. From them I’ve learned there are different kinds of black sheep. It’s not all black and black :^D

    This is a beautiful post, just what I needed to read before driving up to Placitas to join other black sheep. I hope it all works out. I feel scared but I’ll kick my own butt over the finish line.

    Bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

