467. January 6th..Merging into the other…

“Place on the Map” earrings 2011

“I like to drink to suit my location.” – Tom Jones

Merge is defined: “to combine, blend, or unite gradually so as to blur the individuality or individual identity of”

I have merged all of my blogs together…recently so my writing…painting and jewelry are all at one convenient location…sounds a little like an ad for a Wal-Mart…pharmacy or a late night 7 to 11…some place I can get a 12 pack of Keystone…some spicy pork rinds…a pack of Chesterfield Kings…and some writing and paintings…to contemplate…

there is a sort of re-animator feeling about it…as if some identity has been jeaopardized..or worse..lost…I have this idea that separate blogs gives some level of complication…that spews…what…I’m not certain…nor have I ever been certain…and honestly it is much like the way I eat…nothing touches…and eat one thing at a time…this makes sense..so keeping blogs in their respective worlds…has me isolated yet…my island is within view of the tour boats…I feel pretty good about this marriage…and what it offers is much greater than what it doesn’t…

The pair of earrings called “Place on the Map” were a custom order for a sister that they both live in 2 different places in New Mexico…I used sterling silver, hand-stamped copper, road maps and a glass cabochon…and a stamped inscription on the back…


when building a piece like this I wonder about the story that will go along with it…what gets said about it…what the recipient feels about it…and how the giver came to a place that this seemed the logical gift for someone else…often I will inscribe underneath the stone a quote…or another piece of paper with well wishes written on it…and really I only know about it…but the energy…is there…

I once loved a woman…and wanted the world to help me with her…so I set a poem I’d written about her…under glass and made a few hundred pendants….gave them away…to anybody I encountered…”It’s your lucky day“…under the guise that when people wore them…other people read them…and that reading somehow got out into the universe and kept it moving a little more than normal…wether it did fill the universe with more of this energy…I’ll never know… but I am really really glad…it didn’t work…and I did learn to be much more careful about what I ask for…

building jewelry…is like not getting lost in an unfamiliar place…there are steps that have to be done and they have to be completed in a particular sequence…deviating from the sequence has a predictable….usually costly end result…by practicing not getting lost…it is much easier to find where we are when we do get lost…so the pyrotechnics of the event are pretty short-lived and not very exciting…although with jewelry…the unknown portion…is personality…personality of the componants…and what they just might decide to do while everybody is standing in line to exit the high dive board for the first dip of summer…metal has a mind of its own…it responded in certain ways…that can be much like my cat Elvis who is precictablly…unpredictable…and rather than plan the emergency metal might spring…it is much easier to resign myself to the fact that if I act okay…the metal usually will as well…

the unity of this move feels good…kind of like when metal solders perfectly…and we both walk away laughing and smiling…

“Popular art is normally decried as vulgar by the cultivated people of its time; then it loses favor with its original audience as a new generation grows up; then it begins to merge into the softer lighting of ”quaint,” and cultivated people become interested in it, and finally it begins to take on the archaic dignity of the primitive.” – Northrop Frye


Leave a Reply

