473. January 15th…It’s not who you really are…it’s who you think you are that matters…just keep practicing your…Handwriting….

“Boxed In” 2011

“The handwriting on the wall may be a forgery.” – Ralph Hodgson

“The Handwriting on the Wall”…comes from a biblical event in the Book of Daniel…King Belshazzart …fundamentally uses stolen religious items for the wrong reason…a hand appears…and writes…”minaminashekelhalf-mina”…on the wall…it is interpreted as Belshazzart’s kingdom is divided…his days are numbered…and God is pretty mad…later that night Belsharzzart dies…or is killed…his kingdom split…and people start believing in the…”Handwriting on the wall

persona…”a person’s perceived or evident personality“…one we all have…make…display…at certain times while developing a few new ones…to ensure we  fit in while standing in a crowd of head hunters…or intellectuals…or politicians…or crackheads…

burdened with persona issues…overwhelmed with handwriting on walls…how in the world can we be ourselves…or is being ourself…part of being somebody else…or a bunch of somebody elses….we are not…and as far as handwriting…is there a need to pay attention to it…sort of like the billboards along the highway…the “New”…handwriting on the wall…

when I was growing up…advertising…was much more of a lie than it is today…companies could literally peddle snake oil…and say it cured anything and everything… I purchased every item from the back page of comic books…thinking one would have to be worthwhile…indeed they were not…

the two most alarming purchases were…sea monkeys and x-ray glasses…I recall pouring the sea monkeys in the jar…along with them came a guide to raising them and a magnifying glass…the advertisement showed…a mother sea monkey pushing a baby carriage with two baby sea monkeys in it…crossing a bridge…in the distance were a group of sea monkeys…farming in a well manicured field…and slightly to the right was a town…with a church…and buildings…I couldn’t believe for a dollar or so and shipping and handling ..I was going to be in charge of this microcosm..everyday…I hurried home hoping to see construction…farming…families and all that goes with a community…my brother after a week or so…gave me the magnifying glass and pointed out the tiny blobs floating in the water…and identified them as …”Sea Monkeys”…I was crushed…there were going to be no farmers…builders…nothing…

I received the “X-ray glasses” in the middle of the week…a pubescent boy of 10…with great curiosity…and glasses that could see through anything were probably not a good mix…I waited at the bus stop…parochial uniform…tan briefcase…wearing the glasses that looked like some antiquated torture  device…protruding from my face…I entered the city bus thinking…today is going to be a great day…nothing…absolutely nothing… perhaps it was a focusing issue…I worked on the problem for the entire ride to the parish….first stop…the  black women at the car wash I stopped at each morning and got a Mars candy bar with almonds and one particular woman in mind who had nicknamed me “Honey Boy” whose smile revealed beautiful gold teeth ….and finally the parish school…where I had “The advantage”…I could see through anything….they never worked….not once…not even close…and the ridicule from the car wash attendants and my fellow students was almost more than I could take….

now the handwriting has changed…but not a great deal…you can be anybody you want if you carry the right dog…dress in the right clothes and have the correct bag…there are actually places that lease expensive handbags these days…so you “Look” the part…you can drive a Mercedes have all of the ecutraments…and live in a place right out of Architectural Digest…that appears to be right next to Mariah Cary…if you have the right mix…

so I guess the writing on the wall is probably a lie…and the persona…has become so shallow that the bottom is very visible….and obvious…but it still works…I mean the other day I actually saw a well waxed moustache and an “artist” …wearing a beret….

“You have to have a certain persona to be a star, you know, and I don’t have that. I’m a banana.” – Harvey Korman

2 thoughts on “473. January 15th…It’s not who you really are…it’s who you think you are that matters…just keep practicing your…Handwriting….

  1. Happy Zenday, Robert!

    I adore this post. I remember when my brother Lenny ordered those sea monkeys & his ensuing disappointment. We were all disappointed together.

    I love your school stories, the way they make those images rev into life. Awesome!

    I’m digging this photo. I taste metal. 😉

    Blessings to you!!!

    Like

    • Thanks Carmela…the photo is of small beaded and mirrored boxes from India…that have been tweeked a little…the fate of my sea monkeys was move them to a new environment….the bowl filled with magic rocks….a little to toxic….hope all is well….

      Like

Leave a Reply

