476. January 21st…Perspective…what color bumper car do you want..and can I get you a Salmanazar…of Shiraz…with that???

“Mesh” 2011

“It is not I who have lost the Athenians, but the Athenians who have lost me.” – Anaxagoras

getting  perspective in place…may be right shoe on left foot…or eating broth with a fork…or fiction at times…but like adventure in life…an essential part of living well…

perspective has a few definitions…and it seems they are separated into…perspective from the visual…technical realm and perspective from human relationship… I like this definition by far…for both holding a pencil in my hand and drawing as well as developing…maintaining…a place  with relationships:

a technique of depicting volumes and spatial relationships”

I do take up space…I have volume…there is always the dynamic of where I am taking up space to where you are taking up space and where you are taking up space to where I am taking up space….depending on who is who….. and how that all works….or doesn’t…and that makes a great deal of sense to me….sort of like chess before starting the game…

in all of this there has to be some reason for each of us to take up this space…and bumper car our way through life…planning for minimal bumps…and avoiding the corner traps…as well as running into as many other cars as we can…in the alloted period of time….you can’t run into everybody…so it’s really about choosing who you run into…choosing carefully…so your not taking up a 6 x 9 space…for 12 to 20…if you know what I mean…

I’ve given up being concerned with all of the space…now I have to say I’m making my place as nice and homey as possible…new curtains…a kitchen window full of Phalaenopsis…and a nice chair…oh and few cold Citra Ales in the fridge…but basically my bubble travels with me…and I’ve had times in my life where the invaders did invade…the covert…ops…did infiltrate…and all was left close to ruin…but like tawny port…the more I age….I am fortified…

perspective in drawing is interesting…just using 1 point and 2 point perspective…to draw…say the same building…exhibits a completely different image of the same…the angles different…the lines of convergence coming and going  different directions…the subject really hasn’t changed a bit…it’s the view..the vantage point… that has made it different…and I find it very interesting that…looking at that from here says that…while looking at that from there says something else…

there is a purpose for everything…real or not…and often that everything doesn’t make any sense at all…and I’d like to share my complete and utter lack of understanding why…purpose seems blurring when….things like this happen

wine is sold in a variety of bottles…sure we all know the bottle of wine wrapped in a dirty magazine…and then a bottle of Dom Perignon…and maybe even a stretch past that to a “Magnum”…but believe it or nor there are many…MANY…more…bottles for the exact same wine…here they are with their respective number of glasses per bottle…some are for champagne and certain varieties/types of wine and are not commonly found….

Mignonette used for a sample
Piccolo – 1
Chopine – 1.25
Demi – 1.875
Bottle – 3.75
Magnum – 7.5
Marie-Jeanne – 11.25
Double Magnum – 15
Jeroboam – 22.5
Methuselah – 30
Salmanazar – 45
Balthazar – 70
Nebuchadnezzar – 75
Melchior – 90
Solomon – 100
Sovereign – 125

This is the perspective…I’m talking about…I know I can drink a Piccolo…a Chopine…think of which Taxi company I’m calling at a Demi…make questionable decisions at a Bottle…contemplate the whole mail order bride thing at a Magnum…and promise while I’m giving my credit card number…secret code and expiration date to my new Russian mail order bride…for 1st class plane fare…for her and her mother….that we will name our first daughter Marie Jeanne….

“Be careful going in search of adventure – it’s ridiculously easy to find.” – William Least Heat Moon





 

 

 

 

One thought on “476. January 21st…Perspective…what color bumper car do you want..and can I get you a Salmanazar…of Shiraz…with that???

Leave a Reply

