479. January 25th…Phalaenopsis cultivars….what’s not to like???

“Cage” 2011

“If we cut up beasts simply because they cannot prevent us and because we are backing our own side in the struggle for existence, it is only logical to cut up imbeciles, criminals, enemies, or capitalists for the same reasons.” – C. S. Lewis

tonight my karate classes start…I am excited as I am sure my students are as well…some will be very nervous…cry and want to get off of the floor go sit with a familiar person…one who doesn’t raise their voice and make them do pushups…others have been there…they know the ropes..or know them as well as they can remember them…the returning students…they have rank…each of them has received either a stripe on their belt or a new colored belt…the older students who have higher colored belts…not only have rank…they have power and they are beginning to notice that….power and what it can do…tonight will be a lesson in power…I suppose…

I think everything has a fullness to it…a completness that if explored/pursued can give up the essence of itself…show all of the smoothness…and purity of the item or thought…but I think that depends on how we look…for what reveals itself…there might be unexpected revelations as well…equally a part of the entire…

for me…much of the revelations happen after I think I really know what I am doing…and feel confidant about my…”Expertise and Knowledge“…I find myself in a place that now the questions are sharp and very precise regarding what would seemed like a giant visual landscape….rather now…the focus is clearly visible a few hundred miles away….on some miniscule little dot…that was of no notice once…yet has something to it that changes the pursuit…

I’ve thought a great deal about “Perfecting’… and what that means …well it means “excellent or complete beyond practical or theoretical improvement“..and there is a part of me that…1). knows that is a life long endeavor…2).will reveal much more than I can imagine…3).seems very isolated and focused…4). opens up many other venues of exploration…5).seems ideal for me as an artist…and 6). doesn’t really have an end…and that’s the part I really like…even though a definition says “beyond anything“…. perfection is unattainable…and is merely some stops…before the starts…

I have a  rescued phalaenopsis orchid….pregnant and …so ready to bloom…as I recall the last year it bloomed…the flowers were perfect…they were delicate…saturated with color…beautifully patterened …erotic…beautiful and everything about them screamed flawless…each an individual fingerprint…I’m reminded of a response to a blog post of mine…”When we see everything as art we taste immortality.”….orchid day is very close…my friends….

“Painting is not for me either decorative amusement, or the plastic invention of felt reality; it must be every time: invention, discovery, revelation.” – Max Ernst

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “479. January 25th…Phalaenopsis cultivars….what’s not to like???

  1. Karate & orchids…
    My son called me last year to tell me my grandson Brady was taking Karate. He said, “Dad, everybody in the dojo looks like an incredible nerd and the sensei looks like the biggest nerd of all! He looks like the kind of guy we used to de-pance in gym class.”
    I said, “Well, try to de-pance him and if he kicks your ass you are probably getting your monies worth.”

    I have raised orchids for about ten years. I have 25 different kinds and my Phalaenopsis are budding out too. My Darwin orchid (you need one) is in full bloom. It has a 16 inch throat and when C. Darwin first observed it he concluded that somewhere out there was an insect with a 16 inch something-or-other or it couldn’t be pollinated. 100 years after his death Darwin’s Moth was discovered with a 16 inch tongue that rolls up like a window shade. I find the smell of the flowers erotic… my wife finds it disgusting.
    I will close with a link to pictures. http://www.google.com/images?client=safari&rls=en&q=darwins+orchid&oe=UTF-8&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=univ&ei=iyI_Tba9KobLgQfgrPj4CA&sa=X&oi=image_result_group&ct=title&resnum=3&ved=0CDoQsAQwAg&biw=1231&bih=577

    OOH OOH… You need one of these too! The leaves, in person, are works of art.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ludisia_discolor

    Like

  2. Darwin’s orchid…wow!! I will have to get one of those….perhaps I can put in a request…

    I’ve been given most of the orchids I have from a plant dealer here that decorates office buildings…banks etc… with them while they are in bloom…with no flower they have no value for the corporate image….isn’t that always the case…shucks…but I like the anticipation of what personality develops about this plant…not knowing anything of it’s phenotype…keeps me actively engaged in taking care of them….

    This is my 15th year of teaching…about mid ways through the semester…I always have a student that mistakes me for a middle aged man that has just watched far too many Bruce Lee movies…and wants to spar…and to a degree he is right…It is always a treat and usually I offer a generous handicap of using only one foot one hand….and have found over the years what I’ve learned most about martial arts is…for most people..the belt is far mightier than the hand or foot….

    Like

Leave a Reply

