480. January 26th…Halloween’s coming early…or late…depending on how you look at it…

“Enso” 2011

“All things entail rising and falling timing. You must be able to discern this.” – Miyamoto Musashi

“when”…seemed pretty important…yet when the time came there was no possibility for anything of the idea to transpire…or for that matter to take shape…it floated like a balloon almost out of helium…inveriablly earthbound….

I’ve always been intrigued at the ability for plans to take a position…a foothold that displays some legitimacy…to breath out of the water…develop lungs when gills were present…take wing and fly on to parts unknown…

it was 19 degrees this morning…the sun was creeping and geese flew over my house awakening me…and I thought about…a place I used to sit when I lived on the coast…a small bench…above the Pacific…on a cove…a place I could stare out for as far as I could see…to the right was a very rocky beach…wedged between the rocks were broken abalone shells…they would shine when the water washed over them…I thought about what I thought about when I would sit there…which usually had to do with contentment..happiness and being satisfied….I watched as the pelicans would silently in a long straight line float just above the water…and wonder where they were going…not why they were going there…it seemed what I was seeing was just a glimpse…some small frame of time…

today is a….”put my hands up in the air day“…one of those days I am not going to have faith…in anything…other than the day beginning and ending…see how that pans out…I’ll start with an empty bag…see what the end of the day has filled it with…

From “Tales of the Floating World”… by Asai Ryōi

“Living only for the moment, turning our full attention to the pleasures of the moon, the snow, the cherry blossoms and the maple leaves; singing songs, drinking wine, diverting ourselves in just floating, floating; … refusing to be disheartened, like a gourd floating along with the river current: this is what we call the floating world”…

“‘Things that work persist” – Vinton Cerf

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

