484. February 2nd… “Works of art make rules; rules do not make works of art.” Debussy

“Live, Work…..Look, Love, Loaf, Lose, Loathe, Load, Loan, Loosen?” 2011

“How do I stay so healthy and boyishly handsome? It’s simple. I drink the blood of young runaways.” – William Shatner

we talked about intention…and if it really means anything in making art…and I came to the conclusion that it does not…

intention may begin the process…but the the departure from the system is not very likely…the rules that were set in place are also the rules that are followed…perhaps steering off of the original line a bit…yet never really far enough to look like a different driver…each piece has a similar look to the last piece and the one that will follow it…

so it led me to think about style…and recognition…and if both of these are crucial to producing art…repetition of some process creates…consistency in appearance…and so why is consistency important  while producing inconsistency…is … “all over the board”…and perhaps…less desirable…

I suppose consistency is a great idea when it comes to marriage…restaurants… relationships…manufacturing…watch making…cow milking…returning phone calls…being a sales rep…or doctor…the space shuttle…and things that require a continuum mentality…

what about aesthetic…does consistency have a place…

In times like these I always revisit conversations with my friend/mentor John Wenger….he handed me…a philosophy…I in turn…diseccted…and adapted to fit my shoe size….and have been working with in my own work…that consitency in painting…is as good as it is if it’s important…otherwise painting where no rules exists requires some different attachment to the process…and I think it is very difficult to eliminate the single thread of recognition that ties work together…points back to the artist….and says…”He did it”…so maybe it’s about how rules are made….I don’t know the psychology of rule making…but I’m certainly going to find out….this could be a nice explosion….

here in New Mexico…you can’t swing a dead cat without hitting an artist…and we have a lineage of “Famous” artists that I understand have helped…”Shape” the art world…yet they contributed to it by producing about the same thing…many many times over…which secured a handhold…and defined a career…this always makes me think of Gladwell’s book…”The Outliers”…about place…association and timing…and really nothing more…

I’ve never been a fan of Judy Chicago’s work…call me a Neanderthal pig…yet her consistent grip of “Feminine Art”…has clearly defined her..and her career…most noteblly recognized for “Dinner Party”…I saw her literally at the local museum show here last year…a life size photograph….her 72 year old naked body wrapped in a garden hose…an award winning smile….and the only thing…I could do was sing silently to myself the song….”Brandy”…by the one hit wonder band Looking Glass….I left the museum thinking of why….and I don’t know for certain if her rules had changed…her intention migrating to a different set of rules or what…but for as little as I care for her work…I know the image of naked Judy is burned into my mind much like Dinner Party….and I admire her inconsistency…intentional or not….well…it worked for me…

The ideal situation for a painter would be….selective daily amnesia…mixed with the movie Momento..following the story line of Groundhog Day….

“I recently took up ice sculpting. Last night I made an ice cube. This morning I made 12, I was prolific.” – Mitch Hedberg

 

 

2 thoughts on “484. February 2nd… “Works of art make rules; rules do not make works of art.” Debussy

Leave a Reply

