489. February 9th…Who’d win in a bar fight…John Coltrane…or Sun Tzu…your vote counts…

“Gato’s Idea” 2011

“I find in working always the disturbing intrusion of elements not a part of my most interested vision, and the inevitable obliteration and replacement of this vision by the work itself as it proceeds.” – Edward Hopper

I…like many young boys…fell in love with my first grade teacher…Mrs. Womack…a fine beauty as I recall…the picture perfect…”Life” magazine model of 1964…I loved her so much…I asked her if she would wait for me until I got a little bit older…you know maybe 11….or 13…she in turn declined my request…had a conference with my parents…and set me straight on what love was and somewhat how it worked…the age gap and all of the particulars…I was okay with this…a little disenchanted but nevertheless OK….

I’ve noticed lately I’m saying “Hmmm” a great deal more than I ever have…and pausing more when I talk…I don’t think it’s serious…instead I believe I’ve arrived at a place where I think more before I act…and I never really planned on getting here…frankly I never even thought about it…but here I am…maybe Socrates quote…”The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.” is making sense…

I am at that point in my life where quality far out weighs quantity…and my batch processing mind…has chosen to look at the petal rather than the entire garden…call it a mortality wake up call…if you will…but what counts is not the amount of it all but the essence of it…the purity…and truth…we will find what we are searching for…so it’s imperative…that is defined clearly…worst job on the planet has to be the royal taster….

John Coltrane’s  recording…”A Love Supreme”…epitomizes life as I see it…called the greatest jazz album of all…Coltrane…recorded this entire album in one session…it is a culmination  of old and new…has  4 very distinctive parts…”Acknowledgment”… “Resolution”… “Pursuance”….and ends with “Psalm”…here is a perfect example of putting it all together when putting it together counts…

when putting it together counts…it is a dynamic of all of the elements being well placed…honed…accurate…and ready…right timing to avoid the bloody nose…therw is no magic…no right place right time…no luck…it’s all about nature…like a scorpion…they are designed to sting….

if you’ve not listened to “A Love Supreme”….do…it just might change a few things…

“The quality of decision is like the well-timed swoop of a falcon which enables it to strike and destroy its victim.”  – Sun Tzu

Leave a Reply

