502. March 14th…a little inspiration…goes a long way…

“Red Days #1” 2011

“The reward of art is not fame or success but intoxication: that is why so many bad artists are unable to give it up.” – Cyril Connolly

he passed on some ancient information…that had been passed on to him…by  the same method…oh…for maybe a few hundred years…he said…”She told me to just listen to the wind“…and some how…he didn’t need to explain it…as it all made sense…after I looked at the showing of his work…it was apparent he’d listen…and listened very well…

there is something about seeing art work that is just the perfect hit…everything about it speaks…clearly…maybe not in a language everybody gets but loud enough and clear enough…that if you listen it’s right there…that sort of success…is amazing…to me…it strikes me as the perfect mesh and that mesh requires many years to get to that place that it works…unfolds…I mean that’s what the work seems to be for…

W.B. Brown

I started a book last night that like few books is one I could tell by page 3 this was going to be a difficult book to put down…”The End of Art” by Donald Kuspit…I’ve yet to get far enough into it to clearly define the idea but there a few quotes that have made me smile and laugh out loud…

(Art)…”It has also been undermined by the belief that all one has to have is a “concept” to be an artist, which suggests that the concept of artist, as well as of art, has lost clear meaning. This is why so many people think of themselves as artists, for everyone, after all, has a favorite “concept” especially about some person, place and thing they know.

I was away for the weekend…sleeping Saturday night…on an unfamiliar bed…in an unfamiliar place…very relaxed and comfortable…I dreamed “hard dreams”…you know those kinds of dreams that are so real it’s easier to convince yourself they were real…than just dreams…and I’ve not dreamed for a few years consistently….but what dreams I do have now…are as significant as chicken innards…the oracle at Delphi…or a loaded deck of tarot cards…so I had an  opportunity to spend some time thinking of the “message” I wanted from this night of very lucid dreaming…

the word inspiration….comes from the Latin word…inspirare: to inflame, blow into, “in” + spirare  is “to breathe”…so in essence…to be inspired is….to breath…

I really enjoy how small moments of time create large moments of inspiration…how sitting with a few people…meshed in a conversation…can cause an enormous wave of inspiration to swell…enough so…there becomes a level of overpowering eagerness …associated with the idea…the “Can’t wait ” sort of thinking…where tomorrow can not get here quickly enough…so that process can begin to unfold…

Inspiration is a feeding to be fed sort of mentality…we are inspired by others to do because they do…as well we inspire others to do because we do…and the more I thought about that…the whole notion of it really made me realize how important it is to continue on…even when things slow…and questions are more abundant than not…

so to those of you who inspire me…and continually do….thank you…

“Delay is the deadliest form of denial.” – C. Northcote Parkinson

 

Leave a Reply

