503. March 16th…Really…who is that face looking back at you??….

“Big Nuts” 2011

“I love you, just not how you want me to” – Susan Hyatt

a problem is an easily worked out position…depending of course where you are standing in relationship to the problem…and what you have described the big picture to look like…and as long as the big picture doesn’t blur as the problems move forward…

before my father died almost 20 years ago he and I became friends…..he told  me what it felt like being in a landing craft on a beach assault during WW2 in the Pacific…the sensations…what and how everything felt before the door would drop open…and as he would say…”Things would change faster than a jack rabbit”….and I know his recall of the events were covered…and muted…he lived to be 74…

I found some broken amber-colored car reflectors…on the side of the road…perhaps from an accident…and I’ve been looking at them for the past couple of days…wondering what makes a reflector…well reflect…sure it’s one of those things that shouldn’t require a great deal of thought or time investigating the reason it reflects…but it’s little knowledge that leads to big knowledge…and knowing about something as simple as reflection may not change the world…but what an ice breaker at a party where I don’t really know anyone…

Reflection:  “representation; counterpart”….so I guess the next question is…is a reflection real and accurate…somedays I hope so…other days I don’t…and I guess it also depends on where you’re standing…and what part is reflecting…. to make that choice

love is a reflection….although Tina Turner said…”whats love got to do with it”…while Jim Morrison said “Love me two times”…and yes even though most of us won’t admit we know it…Air Supply said…”I’m all out of love”…so what are each reflecting to whom ever they are reflecting in front of…well seems pretty obvious…Tina’s arms are raised..asking questions…Jim is laying there…saying “c’mon..once more”…and the guys from Air Supply…well you decide….

everything has to reflect accurately or as close as possible…not like a carnival mirror…where you have the big head and the pint size body…I mean would you want to wake up next to that person everyday….or go to that job…5 days a week…I didn’t think so…

I like reflection in those first few moments after waking up…they are as horrifying…as they are mesmerizing…I’ve only known one person who when she woke up she was just as beautiful as when she went to bed…she was from the sweet pea family…while most of us…well let me speak for myself…..look somewhere between mug shot….homeless and been camping for a few days…but without the aid of a mirror…we could actually go outside like that…wondering why we didn’t get the job…or everybody is staring…

so reflection has a much greater value than counterpart…or representation…there is a truth that is undeniable…at what we see when we see ourselves looking back at us…and sure that truth may very well go unnoticed by everyone else on the planet…except when our eyes…meet our eyes…it’s hard to see anything other than what really is…even if what is…is still in the process of becoming what really is…or maybe becoming the illusion….

“I have always preferred the reflection of the life to life itself.” – Francois Truffaut

Leave a Reply

