506. March 22nd…”Work and love; these are the basics. Without them there is neurosis.”

“Kings Seat” 2011

“It is astonishing what force, purity, and wisdom it requires for a human being to keep clear of falsehoods.” – Margaret Fuller

there is a particular technique called “Hidden hands”…this movement is usually done while a person is moving towards your back…as they are stepping into the striking zone…while the defender is turning…one hand becomes very obvious…it is a back fist very much in line and visible…coming towards the side of the head…this hand technique is designed to raise the hands of your opponent…protecting his head…from the strike….while still in the turning motion…the other hand strikes directly into the solar plexus as the body has finished the turn completely…and the hips are squared…generating an enormous amount of knockdown power…disabling your opponent….by a strike clearly but a great deal more by….deception…

when we expect the sting of the needle or the uncomfortable crack of a particularly hard chiropractic adjustment…a good practitioner will cause a slight distraction a blink before the process begins…to disrupt the focus…once the brain has given that nano second thought the energy the process has begun and in many cases is over…

this morning I awakened to the sound of rain…every time I’ve heard rain on the roof…I have always wondered if it is real or if I am dreaming it is rain falling on the roof….I have to completely wake…before I can confirm or deny the reality of the rain…and I guess there is a part of me that even if it is not raining…it really is…that’s the intriguing part…

I’ve been thinking a great deal about actions for the past month…seems all of the actions have to make sense at some level….even if they don’t make sense to anyone else…I can sure make my actions justified…make more than sense…find everything about them oozes some degree of truth…based on what I think the truth looks like…at that given time…when maybe that truth is only a particular piece of some greater or lesser truth…and the action may well be just an iceberg tip waiting for a near Titanic collision…

I think it just might be easier to ask for what we want…rather than let everybody try and figure it out by our actions…antics…sleight of hand…personal charades…writings entangled in a net of metaphor….is that shirt suggesting more than “that shirt”….conversations that sound like some secret code…and all of the stuff we avoid expressing yet want…but don’t say because…we know clearly  that if we said  _____________________________________________… it would not only jinx the possibilities…it might be rejected…laughed at…declined…ignored…hurt someone’s feelings….or we just might get it….WTF!!!!….and if the latter happens…well then…what next…line standing…or working as a checker at the local Bag and Save…or maybe erecting a big Las Vegas sign in the front yard…that reads…”OH YES”….in blinking lights…with show girls…and limos…and newly pressed clothes….and that good life…you always wanted…just didn’t wear well because of some weird reason….

the way to defend against the Hidden hands” technique is very simple…it requires something as a small as a step….stepping to the shoulder of the arm that is throwing the  back fist……(diffusing the deception)…

“A deception that elevates us is dearer than a host of low truths.” – Marina Tsvetaeva

“Freedom is the right to tell people what they do not want to hear.” – George Orwell

 

 

2 thoughts on “506. March 22nd…”Work and love; these are the basics. Without them there is neurosis.”

  1. Robert, what an amazing writer you are! Asking for what you want does call for some modicum of courage – for all the voices of the past telling you not to, because, because, because – and then taking the step and going forward with the request. I often discover that the anticipation of the expected response (in my case, a generally expected “no”) weighs more more heavily than the actual speaking of what I want. Still, the hesitancy can cause the stop. Hence, the courageous act. Thanks for taking those steps.

    Like

  2. Thank you…it now comes down to the idea that if I don’t verbalize what I want…I will never know if I would have received it…as that lack of speaking almost always ensures minimal or no result….I have finally accepted…I have expectations…much to my dismay…or to my delight…I’m still a bit uncertain what flavor they each offer…but I do know with certainty….the expectation I will gain….if i don’t speak and speak often…thank you and Neil for our conversations…

    Like

Leave a Reply

