509. March 29th…it’s hard to image one single day without Painting…and…Frankenstein…of course

“Passing the light” 2011

“Mediocre minds usually dismiss anything which reaches beyond their own understanding.” – Francois de La Rochefoucauld

after a day of intense conversation about art…painting and being artists…when I returned home…I found much of what I had talked/debated/listened was like….frayed string…my lips moved…I heard everything…the ideas came forward but what was really missing was the element of concreteness…you know…having the bags packed and ready to go…it all sounded like a strategy for battle…yet with no war to fight…great ideas with applications that had to have commitments…before they could be installed…really see the nails driven in…the steel shiny from the hits…

so naturally it got my squirrel cage mind moving in the direction I tend to call “forward”…stuffed with far to many thoughts…alternatives…new ideas…emerging like fins from the water….were they friend…foe or floating debris…that was the initial question…one that needed to be sorted…filed into the personal triage folder…dealt with accordingly…as it is not only easy to over think…but almost a requirement…to clutter…with synapse that seem no part of the current dialogue…

Occam’s razor…has finally begun to make more sense to me than not…“it is futile to do with more things that which can be done with fewer” not William’s exact words but a close paraphrase…

so I guess what transpired above all via a day long conversation and a dip into every color Golden makes….was the idea that in order to be in the game…one simply has to be in the game…sounds reasonable yet there are a few…small nuances…that work like buttons with button holes…meaning better than…“well”…the life simply put must either be a focus of minimal or no distraction…and entirely on the prize…or the life then becomes compromised…amiss…otherwise the question arises “is what I am doing…what I should be doing”…no where does one achieve by being…partially there…it is the immersion…or it is not…and as I told my boy today…there is a price to pay for either choice…being deep in the water or on the surface…each has advantages…each hindrances…and what effects one does not necessarily effect the other…the ideal…work in both locations…familiarize oneself with the depths as well as the light of the surface…as with anything something of importance can be gleaned from a stop anywhere…

when Dr. Frankenstein was working on his creation…he had a plan…one that even though most of my friends cringed with fear…I have to admit…I thought it a good one…something I actually believed there were jobs in this field and creating life from a few electrodes…well predicted lightning strikes…associating with hunchbacks… and developing a loud sinister laugh just seemed like a very doable prospect…and I have to admit the “It’s alive” part just had me quivering with anticipation…but without a doubt the good doctors plan was well intended…just lacking a bit of due diligence…but still really good…how was he to know Frank would have the potential for disaster…after all a brain is a brain…

so the conclusion…whether it’s bringing life back to the dead…or painting pretty pictures…business is not just waiting for lightening and plugging plugs in or hoping for miracles…and as my father would say…. “waiting for the paintings to just walk themselves right on out the door to where they need to be”…except he never used the words paintings…but you get my point…doesn’t really matter what we do…it matters what we do with it….

“I fear my enthusiasm flags when real work is demanded of me.” – H. P. Lovecraft

3 thoughts on “509. March 29th…it’s hard to image one single day without Painting…and…Frankenstein…of course

  1. Mornin Robert

    …The question arises “is what I am doing…what I should be doing”…?”

    Absolutely! Robert, if you don’t do what you are doing it simply won’t get done. “Live for the sake of living, love for the sake of loving and give for the sake of giving.” Reality is a wholly internal phenomena. YOU create it. People who make the mistake of permitting others to define reality for them simply don’t live as long as those who don’t. That is why self-employed men outlive men who work for someone else. The universe obviously is selecting for art, music, uniqueness of perspective and contemplation.
    I meant to comment yesterday, but, I found myself otherwise occupied plumbing the depths of “Antinatalism”. What a strange bunch of characters. To rid the universe of suffering they propose ridding the universe of life. I was hoping you (or anyone) would wade in on the issue.

    Keep up the good work (my cherry trees are in full flower)
    Mrs. N

    Like

    • I am there…
      The am I doing question really stems more from the idea that lip service may often be proposed as doing something much greater than merely moving the lips…with hopes that the level of lip vibrations somehow elevates a lack of commitment…yet the work for the superficial often far outweighs the necessity to continue through and on…the trappings without genuine intent or desire…

      I agree completely…my best reality has always been the one I have defined…no doubt…

      Bottom line for me is…in order to create a good monster…you have to be a good monster first…takes endless practice…I feel the immersion in painting…makes the possibility of great paintings…

      I’ve been thinking a great deal about fruit tress…these days…I pass many flowering on my morning walk….we are alive with color here…everything is living large….I’m glad to hear cherries are in bloom…be well…

      Like

Leave a Reply

