517. April 26th…Lists that REALLY WORK!!…Endorsed By Yogi Bear…(he’s smarter than the average bear)…and Dick Cheney…

“Closer than you just might think” 2011

“What we call the beginning is often the end. And to make an end is to make a beginning. The end is where we start from.” – T. S. Eliot

the Sanskrit word …”Susampad”…means: plenty, abundance, great wealth or prosperity; creative power….

yet to gain creative power the idea of “Creative Destruction” becomes in integral part of the process…

Creative Destruction is the basic idea that all that is …is temporary and has to be destroyed for the new to occupy that same space…which too will become the focus of destruction when a different…”new”…begins to emerge and wants the same space…etc…this process is essential for momentum…anything else reeks of stagnation…forces an historic reflection that clouds the vision of the pursuit… much like a  retired  boxer returning to the ring…to “re-ignite” their career…generally a catastrophy…as what once was…certainly now…is not…usually the fighter…is out of shape..working from a place that was the pinnacle at some point…and has the…”dazzle em with brilliance/baffle em with bullshit mentality”…yet when facing a hungry opponent…always bring food…not philosophy…history…or the old you…even the new you should have as Yogi Bear always said…”Pic-a-nic Baskets”…

I began thinking of …”deliberate destruction”  -vs- “aligned destruction”…initially my  thoughts on deliberately destroying something seemed like sabotage…yet the more I thought about it…the more it made sense…in some places on my map…while aligned destruction seems more of a…”when it happens it happens” type of destruction…and the more I thought of that…honestly the less I found myself drawn to that thinking..waiting the slow death rather than jumping from the cliff edge…finding the chute is in the resistance stage…changing everything up….and not for just a moment…there is clearly a time when destruction to create happens…especially when we the participants are not expecting it or ready for it…so I guess both have a place where they are in focus while the other is blurred…

all of this led me to a series of quick thoughts while waiting to go outdoors and paint…I was drinking a coffee in a medium to go cup…still wearing my back pack while I was sitting in a restaurant…I was excited to say the least…

the word “Ignore” is the root word for the word “Ignorance”…and each time I’ve said that I cringe with the thought that my choice to ignore something might well be a display of ignorance as well…that poured to the idea of the great idea…the right idea…the thing that will do what the other ideas have not or could not…do…and why could they have not done what I wanted them to do…perhaps they were the “right ideas”…just the “wrong direction”…(revisiting retiring boxer)…so what then you ask makes the right idea and the right direction connect…that was my deep pondering all day yesterday…

truth is often not what anybody…ourselves included wants to really hear…although we say we do…the truth often reveals a portion of us that perhaps needs work…is deficit in structure and often something we just might be ignoring…(revisit ignore and ignorance conversation above)…truth though too can be someone else’s truth that we’ve allowed ourselves to get tarred and feathered with…so firstly we have to discern our truth from any and everybody elses version…that sort of means taking off all of your clothes…sitting at the dining room table…with reams of paper…pencils a box of kleenex…a bucket of chicken…and resigning yourself to the idea that time is only something man created…so spend a bunch of it…doing something like finding the truth about something…anything…

given my deep thoughts of yesterday…I had to develop a plan…one I could work with relative ease…something I could explain to my friend Mars…in less than 5 minutes…show it like a good convincing Dog and Pony show…but mostly something I wouldn’t mind tattooing on my forearm….so…I wrote the heading…

“CLEAR CUT TRUTHS…THE FACTS…JACK”…and listed what I know to be true about the core situation I was addressing…truths that have endured all of my carnival thinking…the ones that clearly screamed Bertie Higgins song “Key Largo” isn’t real…nor a life I ever wanted to live…so my next heading I wrote was:

” TRUTHS AND ASSUMPTIONS THAT MAY OR MAY NOT BE TRUE…THE BROWN UNCERTAIN STUFF”….I wrote what I thought I thought was true and the things that make an…ASS of You and Me…divided the paper into two side…wrote “MYTHS” on one side and “THESE = CLEAR CUT TRUTHS…THE FACTS…JACK”…on the other…took everything I’d written…shuffled each… analyzed it moved it from side to side until I felt comfortable that what I had settled on was some semblance of my truth….and myth…

I then took a black sharpie…”Xed”…out the “MYTHS”…but not until I was completely certain that Astronaut…Circus ringmaster…Playboy…livng in Guatemala…having 6 kids…Bertie Higgins and “Key Largo” along with a few others…were without a doubt …myths… tore the paper in half…crumpled up the side with “MYTHS” written on it and…..ate it….

I then transferred my new truths to the page labeled…”CLEAR CUT TRUTHS…THE FACTS…JACK”…and surprisingly I now had a version of the truth…addressing my situation rather than relying on the “Magic 8 Ball”…for all of the answers…that I felt pretty damn good about…

my close to the last heading before I began drawing the treasure map was…” NOW THAT I KNOW SOME OF THE  TRUTHS…WHAT DO I DO WITH THEM”…that took the better part of the day…as my task is not like tying shoes you know…so after some thought…and knowing that the direction was clearly defined I built the process  of prioritizing the truths and what I get from them under a final heading titled….”THE REAL TRUTH ABOUT WHAT I KNOW TO BE TRUE…THE EMPIRICAL FACTS JACK…NUMBERED AND READY TO INSTALL”….

and at the end of all of the lists…headings…crumpled paper eating…crushed dreams of not being a Guatemalan Playboy…that periodically circles the planet from outer space…with my giant family of circus children and we’re great friends with Bertie Higgins and have a home in Key Largo….I felt the truths had led me to the place where I could see that the destruction of every “point A”…”B”….”C”…”D”…”E” and “F”…had taken place…along with most of the rest of them….and the small stuff was beginning to emerge…the new ABCDEF and the rest of them…just in different letters….

my experience…with this might sound complicated…and I might not be able to explain it to my friend Mars in 5 minutes or less…but what clearly emerged was MY method…oh sure I’m happy now…but what happens when the new methods comes knocking at my door…I’ll be ready…pic-a-nic basket and all….hopefully singing something other than…”Key Largo”….

“Except for the occasional heart attack, I never felt better.” – Dick Cheney

Leave a Reply

