518. April 30th…How getting there feels…these days….

House for 2011 Albuquirky House Tour: Acrylic, aluminum, dice, domino and found object amber and silver hand

“Wishing to be a cowboy all the while
Yes, I was wishing to be a cowboy all the while” – Willis Alan Ramsey

I always wanted to be them…and that has stuck with me my entire life…I mean I didn’t really want to be them…just like them…and to my surprise…one day I was…each time I think of that I have to smile bigger than normal…those days were a dust devil…filled with great stuff spinning around…going any where…everywhere…nowhere…

I’d have to say…there’s room for good long exhales these days…not sighs…more… there it all is in 360 degrees…right there for the looking…and I am really good with all of that…makes me want to read more…write faster…paint during those sleeping hours…maybe even plant a flower garden this year…those roots I’ve always been reluctant to anchor…kind of have minds of their own…

I’ve heard…there’s really no such thing as normal… it appears to me like normal is one of those cow trails in the desert…a well beaten path to someplace that all of them are going…when I guess getting there could be just as easy next to the trail…or a few feet away…maybe in sight of it…at least it wouldn’t be the same constant scenery…small little differences that might just make the walk back a little more exciting…if exciting is part of the walk back…at all…

when I taught in San Jose and commuted  from the small beach community I lived in…I always thought the drive home was like a National Geographic special…about migration…the automobiles heading north towards the city were exactly like the migration of Wildebeests going where they were going…the perils were exactly the same as well…just disguised as CHIPS…deer and other motorists/wildebeests…the cars that broke down along the side of the road…were the old…weak and sick…drivers who were pulled over by the police were…picked from the safety of the herd…isolated and often left behind…while hitting one of the numerous deer crossing the road at night was the ever perilous river crossing…where as we’ve all seen…the crocodiles lie in wait…and if you are anything like me I start screaming at the wildebeests/television…”Look left you idiot…right there…now’s not the time to be drinking water“…then when they are snatched by a crocodile…I leap from my seat…and always ask the same question…”How did you not see that giant crocodile and not get that your buddies are getting grabbed all around you…how’s that possible?”…I gave names to the people who were pulled over…hit deer…and were broken down on the side of the road….said a little ualogy…and  bid them farewell until perhaps the next life….I know….but driving this drive for a few years…I had to find some way to entertain myself…and to contemplate “Normal”…and through my version of some National Geographic connection…it worked…and well….

being there when I was here has always been like looking for the prize in the box of cereal…I can’t usually wait for the prize to surface on its own…so…I’ve historically bent the box open and rooted around for the prize..amisdt the marshmallow surprise…and flakes of unknown origin…once secured…the prize too historically is hardly worth the effort…and now since I don’t eat cereal with prizes…I’d have to say here is by far much more manageable than…there…I would suggest to the cereal companies though….putting a really nice prize randomly in boxes of….”adult cereal“..just might be a real sales booster…imagine a gift certificate for say a Stihl  041 Farm Boss chain saw…or maybe…some really nice chopsticks and sushi dinner…or a gift certificate to an art store…or $100,000. that you as the recipient have to donate 50% to some charity of your choice…and you get to keep 50…anyway….

Willis Alan Ramsey….helped me a great deal…getting to that place of being just like them…I didn’t realize it until I was listening to him a few weeks ago…and like the olfactory phenomenon of scent…hearing music has the same effect on me…I was propelled to a place in East Texas…going to college…watching some  bands on the back of a flat-bed truck in a field…and the played  the song  Painted Lady …that was really all it took to get the gears moving….the direction somewhat set…Thanks Willis….and as a notable icon in Texas says:

“Onward through the fog” – Oat Willie

3 thoughts on “518. April 30th…How getting there feels…these days….

  1. Ok Ellen tell me what cereal you like and what prize you’d like to find in the box…I’ll talk to the powers that have influence over cereal prizes…say the secret cereal incantations or better know as “snap crackle pop”…and sit tight the magic may take a few days…

    Like

    • My favorite cereal is rice crispies with tons of honey. My in the box surprise should be that I get one wish granted. Have to very careful with that wish and how it is worded.

      Like

Leave a Reply

