524. May 15th…The Wilder Places…they are on the map….

“Reflection from a ‘wilder’ place” 2011

“Take care of the sense and the sounds will take care of themselves.” – Lewis Carroll

she told my parents once I put my mind to it…I’d get it…that really seemed like I was the emerging “superman”…well at least in my 6-year-old mind…so I really could be a pine tree….a helicoptor…all of those things I really wanted to be…not like the kid next to me who wanted to be a lawyer…how stupid was that…

everyone who has ever entered into my life…brushed up against it…even walked by it enough for me to notice them…either had something to say and tell me…or I had something to say or tell them…or we both had something to say and tell each other that was going to make a difference right then…shortly…later down the road…or maybe never…

but if I thought about it…it sort of makes me think of the puzzle piece…I’d like to be…you know the shape…the one that makes the corners with a two tabs or two slots…or the turtle shaped one…or my favorite the three-sided one with 3 tabs and a slot on the bottom…officially there are no given names to puzzle pieces… we have to search for them….as we see the negative shape…and often will call them by what we think their shape…should be named…I am a different piece in different puzzles…never the same puzzle never the same piece…maybe close to it…and similar enough that I could interchange  with other puzzles…just my colors might not match…well…

so this weekend while attending a retreat in the high desert…I began thinking more of all of the fits…the ones that open my world up to the bright side of things…that help me explore without thinking about where I’m going…I thought of where I am…what I am doing…how teaching has become an integral part of my life a necessary part of my life…something that has led me to a place that says…this is all very good….and exactly where I want to be…

what occurred to me while sitting on a small rock ledge…800 hundred feet above the river…was…one of my favorite quotes and what it means on days that everything is perfectly constructed….working well and has that mild electric feel…”everything is on its way to somewhere“…I thought about…how easily it is to try to make something out of what it is not…how outcome often has far more importance than the task…the adventure…and how some days are just designed the way they are…to make certain …I realize somewhere is not really the prize…rather a part of it…and when those days reveal just enough to keep me on my way…well…then…it’s all a perfect fit….

“I wonder if I’ve been changed in the night? Let me think: was I the same when I got up this morning? I almost think I can remember feeling a little different. But if I’m not the same, the next question is ‘Who in the world am I?’ Ah, that’s the great puzzle!” – Lewis Carroll..Alice in Wonderland

6 thoughts on “524. May 15th…The Wilder Places…they are on the map….

  1. To say, ‘no kidding’ would be an understatement. But, then again, what’s wrong with understatements anyway?
    Envious of your weekend as it involved making art or learning art all weekend. And, where the heck is that wonderful church?

    Like

    • It was a glorious weekend….not to rub it in…but something I really needed…everything about it was great…the church in a small community just north of Questa named Cerro…

      Like

  2. What a joy to have spent the weekend with you in that wild place! Even with the glitches, it was such a great exploration of art, nature, relationships and connection with it all.

    And then to sleep in my home bed. Ahhhhhh….

    Like

    • I am glad you and Neil came…the glitches were pretty small compared to the time itself…which makes up for any and all labeled “Glitch”…it was fun having you both along…

      Like

Leave a Reply

