528. May 23rd…the… “10 Want to do List”…and thank God I don’t have to wear spandex to do it…

“The Girls of Summer…(in a sort of weird way)…2011

“I have as much authority as the Pope, I just don’t have as many people who believe it.” – George Carlin

I woke this morning thinking of spandex…a troubling thought to say the least…my first and only time wearing spandex was brief…alarming and to say the least bubble bursting when it came to having “that”….body…especially knowing it was never going to happen…or at least not without having a full-time job in the gym…but I’ve come to the conclusion that spandex…however ackward…is a necessity of life…much like Doritos cool ranch…

I recently upgraded my back yard…you know chairs…a small dining table…some colorful flowers…big garden candles…and an outdoor incense spiral…it is now such a wonderful place to sit and relax…eat breakfast…or a late dinner…maybe a Marble Brewed beer on a Saturday night…something I’ve always wanted to do…just never really made the time to do…and that statement got me wondering about all of the other things…I’ve not made the time to do…

I thought long and hard about what I really want to do…omitted brain surgeon…astronaut…race car driver…all of those things that might have an exclamation like….”Oh shit!”…associated with them…so I’ve been building my list today…thinking of the short….mid and long-term lists….of ….”want to do”…and I’ve decided it can’t be like three wishes from a genie where the last wish is…3 more wishes…and I don’t want to take things I’m already doing and enhance them since…I guess I’m doing them already and why repeat the process…and I don’t really want the list to be broad and general…like say….”Great health”…the givens…seem a little to obvious…and who would want bad health to begin with…right????….and lastly my list has nothing to do with anybody else’s list or participation….not intended to be selfish…rather more directed to self improvement…which by definition will affect those who share my life with me…so my list are the things I guess that matter…more than the things that matter but not as much…oh and I narrowed it down to “10 want to do”….with a built-in option to change any want to do…at any given point…or better when I can cross it off of the list…add a new one….

I began realizing…my  “10 want to do”…list may take a lifetime…so I had to really narrow it down to the short list…say the want to do in the next 1-5 years….so here goes

1. Become a really good cook
2. Wear more colorful different clothes
3. Start learning another language
4. Plans for a long trip to Italy
5. Learn to dance the Tango…Merengue
6. Start piano lessons
7. Visit Hagia Sophia
8. Tile a bathroom floor with dominoes 
9. Buy a place that already has mature fruit bearing trees
10. Publish my book

there are a few hundred more…but these are going to work …for right now….there is no time line…these are not goals nor…”have to get done”…they are a few things that in small pieces they will produce the results I am looking for…

I’m hoping sometime in the next 1-5 years…if you come over…perhaps I’ll make a wonderful dinner of…say…Scottish Lamb with a Tomato Rosemary Reduction…Bollos…finished with a wonderful….Cassata Trifle…and a Muscato  di Asti…we can sit around the piano while I play a little Bill Evans…in a rather colorful but not to loud linen ensemble….while a slide show of Istanbul…and Ravina …play on the monitor…perhaps later a tango on the balcony… and a delicious Pink Lady apple from the trees below….and if all of this makes you sick to your stomach…I’ll comfort you with Italian poetry…from my book….holding your hair back…while you are kneeling on the domino tiled bathroom floor…throwing up….and hopefully you will do the same for me….

I think perhaps the romance of it all has gotten to me…not something unusual by a long stretch…knowing these “10 want to do’s” are now out in the universe…amassing energy as I write…is sensational….enough so….

I just might go buy some….spandex….

 “Love is an irresistible desire to be irresistibly desired.” – Robert Frost

6 thoughts on “528. May 23rd…the… “10 Want to do List”…and thank God I don’t have to wear spandex to do it…

  1. What, did you give up on getting married?
    Anyway, if you decide to take a interpreter to Italy, io parlo Italiano ~ sono stata studenta all’universita de Toscana durante millenovecento ottantanove.
    Just sayin.

    Like

  2. LMAO! OK, I’ve picked myself up off the floor. Anyone in spandex is not a pretty sight. No exceptions! Even if they do have the ‘bod’.
    But, hey, I’m game for some dinner at your house on a warm summer’s night. I’ll even teach you a dish that I know how to make that you don’t. whatever that is. It’s just an an excuse to come over and party!
    Kalua pig? I just made some tonight. It was a large batch and should last at least 2 days with me son around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

