532. June 1… “Position”…what a wonderful place to be….

“Convergence” 2011

“I think it’s pretentious to create art just for the sake of stroking the artists ego.” – Lou Reed

when I trained in judo…there was “Randori“…which literally means “Chaos taking” ….”Grasping freedom,“…opposed to formal kata…or form…in our particular dojo…we sat in a square…with one side open….Mr. Hyashi called it the “roster randori“…and it served as a visual which clearly defined the best to the worst  fighters…the last position was always the first to fight…they fought the person to their right…and if they beat them they took their position…moved up in position until they were beaten…sat to the left of the victor….depending on the day…level of gameness…stars in heaven…wheaties for breakfast…etc…anyone on any given day could beat anyone else…in theory…and up to a skill point…everyone had sat at that last position at some point and for some period of time…maybe only one lesson or maybe 20 lessons…and everyone knew what that position meant…and felt like….

moving out of the last position was a huge step…even if it meant one seat to the right…yet there was always the possibility of being back in that position…especially within the first 5 students…as that realm was theirs…the beginning…of it all…if you disrespected Mr. Hiyashi…or another student…or were out of line…he would put you in the last position…and you had to fight your way back up to where you were…close to where you were or perhaps past where you were…usually it happened only once to just a very few students…Mr. Hiyashi made certain it took some time for the offender to move up…

John Mitchell said…”Let us be tried by our actions.”…he was the attorney general under Richard Nixon…the statement sort of implies you should be judged by what you have done…right???…John Mitchell also said…”Do as I say, not as I do“…and that implies that what I am not willing to do…you should….and there in lies a problem…

when I began eating Oreos…we would sit in front of the television…my brother would “unscrew” the Oreo cookie…scrap the creamy filling off with his teeth and hand me the crunchy cookie part…I never had a problem with that at all…then…or now…as I was certain that was the way an Oreo was correctly eaten…when I eat Oreos today…which I don’t anymore…but when I did…I would…1). Think of my brother….2). wonder what this “Creamy filling” thing was all about and…..3). about 50% of the time scrap the creamy filling off and eat just the crunchy cookie part…I know clearly if my brother and I were to eat Oreos again in front of the television…without thought we’d probably do the same thing…it would be blissful…

position“….is my word for the day…it is defined as…”condition with reference to place; location; situation”…yet it is not defined as to who is or wants to establish the…”reference to place; location; situation”…and I have to say that is what I like about the definition…as this becomes the classic example of the cliché….”It takes two to Tango“…let me explain….in other words….where I think you are opposed to where you think you are in reference to where you really are…so I guess the cliché really is not cliché and should be changed to…”It takes three to tango”…which starts to sound a little creepy and weird…so maybe to quote Lou reed again….it should be “If it has more than three chords, it’s jazz.”…that sounds like it works….

ever drank something thinking it was going to taste like something else…and for that brief nano second…it did…but then reality takes over and the idea of…”this is milk…why does it taste like ginger ale“…floods the brain…few little blips of serious confusion and then…right back of track…..”Oh…it is milk…no…it’s ginger ale“….life continues and there is maybe one brief laugh about it…and it’s back to the plans at hand…and the process starts all over…there is a philosophical notion that what we see is really what it is…even if it is not….driving at night…black trash bag blows across the street…but you see a black cat…is it a black cat disguised as a trash bag…or…is John Mitchell up to something we have no idea about…and he’s implying…”See what I want you to see…not what you think you see“….that John….

so I thought about position and I can’t say there is a bad position…other than the ones we don’t want to be in…and we’ve all done a few of those…I especially like the ones that cause our head to bow….breath becomes erratic…blood pressure increases…profuse sweating…anxiety and that uncontrollable desire to look both directions a bunch of times….and then we realize…we don’t live there anymore….or even visit there….or have plans to…..

in the infamous words of…that’s right John Mitchell….

“You can’t pick cherries with your back to the tree.”

and I have absolutely no idea what that means…or what he wants it to mean to me…if indeed he wants it to mean to me what it means…whew….I’m starting to sound like him…have a great day…and move your feet a bit today…change position…it’ll do you some good….

2 thoughts on “532. June 1… “Position”…what a wonderful place to be….

  1. I am right handed. About a year or so ago I switched using my mouse with my right hand and used my left instead. It was to alleviate the lopsidedness that was occurring on the right half of my body. At first it felt very strange and awkward to use my left hand. Particularly in doing Photoshop moves.
    And then, one day, I noticed that it felt comfortable. Now it feels weird to use my right hand for my mouse.
    I’m sure that’s not what you meant by changing positions! ‘Cause I did and I stayed there! ; )

    Like

  2. It might very well mean exactly that…there really is something about doing a few things differently than “Normal”…I’ve worked on painting with my right hand…and can always look at something I did with mostly right hand and see some weird evidence that screams….”Not the normal hand, what were you thinking”….

    Like

Leave a Reply

