539. June 21…The Night with Amma….now it’s time to start figuring…

“Never Stop Dreaming”

“Uncertainty and expectation are the joys of life. Security is an insipid thing.” – William Congreve

I find the little obsession of painting small and on paper has turned into a ritual that much like breathing….has become necessary….it is as if I’ve left someone standing on a dark corner…if I don’t paint in the morning…perhaps I’ve forgotten something…and there it sits…just out of my brains reach…wondering…what is that small little tiny thing that keeps biting me…as I’m staring at the string tied around my finger…..all of the notes written on my mirrors…just the things that make the everyday…unlike every other day…..just like last night….did….

last night some friends and I spent the evening and very early into the morning with Amma…everything about it was mesmerizing…from the moment I stood in line to trying to go to sleep at 4:45 this morning…my first encounter was with a woman who had come from India just to be a part of this…she has been living there for the last 30 years…and the air around her was so powerful…everyone there was stunning…every event was magnificent…the food made me think of simplicity…yet every bite had such a complex flavor…the music was hypnotic…and overall…I felt like I really belonged there…we sat and talked with a woman selling flower offerings who lives in the ashram in India…she overflowed with compassion…and was so genuine it was delightful…refreshing…

we all held tickets …”L3″….around midnight the “I’s” were being taken…I guessed 2 am before we’d see her…it was not until 3… if all of us had been told we’d wait almost 9 hours….we probably would have left…yet looking back today…I would never consider leaving…next time we have a better plan…I said to my friends before it was my turn to see her…”This had better be transformational”…it was beyond that….

I laid in bed at 4:45 this morning…I could hear the truly “early birds” beginning their day…and could hardly close my eyes…even though I was very tired…it was wonderful….

I’m not really sure what I walked away with…or maybe left behind…but I do know it was something…and something that will continually leave it’s mark….the experience left me…alone but filled me…tethered me but set me free… 

I asked and it was given… and was invited to the ashram….

I’ll send postcards….. 

“The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

4 thoughts on “539. June 21…The Night with Amma….now it’s time to start figuring…

  1. postcards to the Ashram or us? that’s the true question. I have been figuring out that we make our own peace, we have to figure out how to lay down the law so to speak. With our peeps, and in our very souls. I am feeling so glad for you that you had a delightful time, I feel kinda giggly inside. I always have felt that peace off you anyway Robert. xoxoxox Ellen

    Like

    • To you guys of course…the time there was wonderful…very good for me..and as far as peace….hmmm…I thought it was something I ate…that made m look that way!!!!

      Like

    • great stuff no doubt…especially with our new ashram friend…who the three of us will definitely have to take her up on the month long ashram stay in India…

      Like

Leave a Reply

