540. New Recovery Jewelry ©…and all the stuff that makes getting better…so much better….

“Some Tight Times Ahead” ©2011, Robert Redus

“Jesus died for somebody’s sins but not mine.” – Patti Smith

a loosening or unfastening,”…I read it a few times…over…then once more for the very…last time…I was done reminding myself of it any longer…I guess it just needed to be unfolded…snap hard in the wind….let go…released from storage…in a sense…but they were my browns…and lavenders…dog eared pages…pressed leaves in the books I’d never read…probably never was…maybe I’d not made the time to…or summoned up the desire enough…to call it anything than what it really was….just good theater…he’d said…bravo…bravo….clapped hands like wooden blocks in an empty room…everything battened down…cause the big waves were sure to come…as they had the many times before…maybe the moon had a little something to do with it…or sure it was global warming…that’s what it was…or maybe god was just pissed…and there was going to be more on Thursday…than the rest of the days…I guess I didn’t know…and I no longer cared…the streets were those slaughterhouse reds…and the screams had long escaped….fell apart like mist from the garden sprayers…bug drops…bug juice…smeared…dried..on the windshield…but could still see through it…if you moved your head a little….but those were the “Solutions”…the effervesint…realities of living well below the bubbles…….hmm the bubbles…they tickled her nose…when they  popped…made her look deeper into the glass….they’d said…”it was another world in there”…I bought one of those dancing hula girls…for the dashboard of the truck”….from….The Black Eye Project

I used to recover a great deal…after weekend long weekends….and not necessarily always after debauchery…late nights and scantily clad women…working around a brass pole attached to the ceiling…whose names were China…and Cheyenne…sometimes the recovery has been silent….a quiet time to try to figure out why certain things worked and others didn’t…and rather than embrace the working mechanisms of living…somehow…wanting to stay there made time sort of something that felt like a hybrid of…Son of Flubber…slow motion…those dreams where people are chasing me and I’m wearing the oversized concrete shoes…or I’m crawling…and there is a test anxiety dream just waiting outside the door…that seconds before the large talon wielding beast grabs me…will make it’s entry into my world….hallelujah!!

Recovery is a long process…one that if dealt with well consume most of what you used to be and sort of squeezes you through the garden hose…to emerge…shinier…than before…yet hyper aware of the stuff that screams …”Run Away…Run Away”…and sleeping with the light on…becomes less normal…while all of those voices…sort of…take a back seat and let you drive…at least most of the time….except when they’re hungry or misguided

and what ever we recover from…there was a significant trade…maybe you traded many years…perhaps decades ago…while the equability may take place say when your 50 or…60…or a hundred…but again if done well…equity balances the books in some weird way…that will inevitably make sense…

sure we can all say…they did _________to me…and I’m pissed…or can only eat lunch meat on Fridays with a Fanta orange drink…with one of those straws that bend….and in a room that is painted a sea green color…because of it….but…your still at least able to eat lunch meat….or stare out of the window 60 times a day rather than the standard 7,114 times  a day as you did for the last 17 years…while you were eating cereal out of the box….with your lucky rabbits foot tied around your neck and the magic house slippers that you wore that ensured planetary alignment and safety from…swarms of locust…plagues…boils…and round things that your were not really sure exactly what they are…that all worked too…in another weird way…

I think recovery is a lot like love…sometimes when you least expect it…it begins to happen…once it happens…if you choose to do nothing about it…basically nothing further is going to happen…but if you decide to take a few steps towards it…forget about what you think you know…the stuff you’re hooked into and maybe just start thinking about solutions…and what feeling good looks like…smells like…taste like…sounds like…it might work…of course with friends… a lot of talking…some pretty late nights…journals…new age music…documentary films…exotic foods from the Asian market…small containers of stuff you still think is magic…and necklaces….that’s right necklaces like this one….

  
This is me at 3 years old…it really is…My friend Mars and I came up with the idea of making necklaces for people who are on the path of getting better… or working on it…or anything around it…I’ve found by wearing this…I have really become very powerful…might sound a bit scizophernic…but we’re having a great time and when I take my walks in the evening…we both walk…have conversations and work out the stuff…we need to over these oh…48 some years….on the back is the statement… “Don’t ever mess with the kid”…we have called these “Recovery Necklaces”…and if you’d like to order one for yourself or someone else, please go to….Recovery Necklaces

Thanks and as the guy for Motel 6 says…”we’ll keep the light on”

“I’m so fast that last night I turned off the light switch in my hotel room and was in bed before the room was dark.” – Mohammad Ali

Leave a Reply

