542. June 27…Bill has the answers…he really does…

“The Last Song” ©2011 Robert Redus

“Babies have big heads and big eyes, and tiny little bodies with tiny little arms and legs. So did the aliens at Roswell! I rest my case.” – William Shatner

“If you have it flaunt…it”…but don’t deep down inside at the core of our being…we hate “It” when “It’s” flaunted…and generally dislike the one doing the flaunting….maybe it’s because they have and we don’t or they can and we can’t….or maybe it’s they have and we do too…they can…and we decide not to…and I think in most cases it is the latter…which shows some sign of grace…acquired over some length of time…

I was a bouncer at the Hard Rock Café in Honolulu….”bouncer” has some connection to the movie Road House…sounds aggressive…stinks of beer…3:AM…and bar flies….being a family restaurant not to mention the busiest Hard Rock on the planet…the management preferred to call us “Security”…there is an air about the word “Security”…I quickly envision suits…ear pieces…calling clients…”The Package”…door opening…black limos and everything that says a 2011…fall release movie…starring Colin Farrell…well not true…my job was to stop what might happened if it did…check identification and generally keep the peace…it was simple…rarely exciting and the perfect place for me to be and be single…

Often I was confronted by people who forgot to bring identification for the bar…and could or could not get in…depending on how they tried to convince me was the determining factor for “No” or “Yes” if they got …“No”…they began “Flaunting”…asking me if I knew who they were…how much money they made…did I know that these shoes…cost more money than I made as a “Stupid Doorman”…in 2 months…and the final plea was always…”c’mon we’re on vacation”…I generally responded with “No”…”No”…“No”…” Really…why in the world should I believe you of all people are on vacation?”…when “No” was as clear as the rhinoplasty nose…check and jowl augmentation and spray on tan on their face…they either did one of 2 things…threatened my job…or…became nice…it was never about premeditated squirming for me…it was really about those first few seconds of them convincing me as to why they needed to get in the restaurant…. because nice people…are not going to be taking off their clothes…getting rowdy…and starting trouble….there was a holistic plan…beneficial…and effective…

I began thinking of having plans…as I’ve never been a real planner…and I think because of an extraordinarily short attention span…my plans generally have a few minute life span…great for spontaneity…but long trips are a little unnerving…if timetables are important to you…I like to think of myself as mobile…but really I am more anchored than I profess…there are all of these conversations I have with Traffic and Elvis…about plans…our plans in particular…we…or really I do all of the discussing…they basically listen or at least have convinced by their looks they are listening…I discuss art plans with them…

art plans are difficult…because the planning part of the brain doesn’t work while the creating part is in the “On” position…there is always a disconnect that occurs…

the more I’ve been involved in producing art…the more I’m getting that it’s always about “The Work”…yet it is also always about “What’s going to happen with the work right now”…I’m not a paint to paint sort of guy…I prefer…the capitalist mentality about producing art and how:

paintings=dollars…which=some part of the happiness pie which in turn=time

there have been 2 events outside of my world that have indirectly affected me to a point that I have come to some few very definitive conclusions…conclusions I am going to do something about:

1.    Art is just art…make it affordable…

2.   Life is shorter than we all think

3.   Anything can happen

4.   If it feels right…it probably is

5.   A well thought out plan is well worth the time thinking

6.   “Hike your own Hike”

7.   Everything I do today has got to be alright

8.   No Regrets

9.   Do something worthwhile everyday

10. Make it effortless…

so in essence…show it off if you’ve got it….cause it won’t last forever…make it cheap…easy to deal with….and something you can handle on a daily basis….and as Miss Kitty from Gunsmoke says:

“You listen to me, cowboy. I’ve got you out from underneath my fingernails and you’re gonna stay out”

2 thoughts on “542. June 27…Bill has the answers…he really does…

Leave a Reply

