548. July 16th…How’d you find purpose…or is it still in the pinata???

“To the Right” © 2011, Robert Redus

“Don’t fight a battle if you don’t gain anything by winning.” – Erwin Rommel

The wish…any wish may have a greater power than the reality of what the wish can produce when put into place…I wished for a different life…and looking back…I got exactly what I wished for…but the life would have arrived any way…I was already living it…always had been…always will…I suppose it all would make better sense if some definitive truth accompanied it…validated it…continually reminded … say by a calendar entry…once a week…

I was told yesterday he consulted a visionary….he’s doing exactly what he was told…rather than all of the other stuff he thought were the right directions…the pursuits that really were boots thick with mud…hard to navigate in…the ones that occupy an enormous amount of time…and rarely produce results…of any kind…have that hard to justify doing mentality when standing there holding the finished piece…and wondering why…I truly admire that…

doing…is really all that matters…as long as what we’re doing matches what we’re saying…and we know when…is when…if it arrives…there is an exhaustion place…where what has been done is all that can be done…everything is down to the single thread…the last crumb…final note…and…“it”… is over…no matter what… “it”… is…further pursuit is the same drive…with different glasses…

so it comes down to doing…not.. “wanting to do”… “thinking about doing”… “planning on doing|”….or any of the other… “_________ about doing”…good doing…takes good thinking…good planning…practical ideas about what doing is going to look like…and the truth about the doer…the whole truth…and nothing but the truth…so help you Dizzy Gillespie…

I have surely done and not had a good plan nor saw what it looked like…and lacked some amount of truth about me as the doer…I can reflect back and see that those were not really opportunities…rather…great ideas…that I simply should not have pursued…and somehow even now…a great idea still gnaws at my fiber…screams “PURSUE”….I just don’t listen anymore…

Knowing what to pursue…is only part of the equation…I think “why”…to pursue it becomes the question of paramount importance…without  a serious answer…what  to pursue…doesn’t really matter…the integral portion of the why…is entirely about purpose…if the why and the what don’t match the purpose…so what if you’ve always wanted to raise bees and you live on a canoe in the Arctic Circle…and maybe it seems a little unrealistic….if it is your purpose…the canoe might get a bit smaller…but hey bees might be a blast in small spaces…and somehow it will work…

Purpose is everything before the act of genuine doing can take place…otherwise  it’s what you call dancing…other people call it seizure…so purpose has to be the true part of it all…and again…many things manifest themselves as purpose…but they’re close but not it…

how did you or are you finding your purpose…let me know….

“To forget one’s purpose is the commonest form of stupidity.” – Friedrich Nietzsche

6 thoughts on “548. July 16th…How’d you find purpose…or is it still in the pinata???

  1. I’ve clearly found my purpose…it has taken some time…and my process has been uniquely mine as has yours…it is interesting..if the process is a head trauma…or a few drinks on a fe hundred Saturday…maybe sniffing encaustic…if you know what i mean….I love that…”Oh I get it ” moment….

    Like

  2. my true purpose is to tell stories. Tony’s disappearance showed me what it is like to lose my heart, so i am writing.

    Like

    • Sometimes…weird as it may seem…purpose appears from adversity…maybe from a stroke of genius…or simplicity…who knows…but how ever it manifests…it is not dictated by age…time..experience…and is when it is…

      Like

  3. I think my purpose found me instead of me finding it. All I know is that it is or has to be art related. Or related to doing something that is creative. So, that is the abstract part of finding my purpose.
    Concrete part? Raising our son and being a parent. Perhaps the most defining event in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

