550. July 19… “A work of art is above all an adventure of the mind.”…

“Friday Night” ©2011 Robert Redus

“I say I’m a million percent. That is better than a hundred percent! ” – Macho Man Randy Savage

this morning I read an article on “Conditioning” and “Calling”…fundamentally what we’ve been taught about who we are -vs- who we really are…and how when presented with the “Y” in our road…how to navigate that “Y”…with the least amount of stress…anxiety and greatest amount of positive forward moving results….

I think as artists we continually stand at these intersections…contemplating direction…what we are…where we are going…the work…what it is doing and where it may be going as well…it is sort of a silent twin…just nods…regardless of the direction….and is going to go…without choice…or regard to the outcome…

much of what we are as artists…is directly related to what shape we were squeezed into…or the molds we were pressed into…or the responses we developed…based on some action at us…towards us…about us…near us…on us…after all… art is nothing more than a self portrait of the artist…we just get better at hiding in the imagery or landscape…or color…or steel…

I’m finding the more work I do the more I have a grip on certain aspects of the painting…while other parts really need to be left to what and how they are going to develop…that’s not to say I really do believe when the lights go out stuff happens…and the painting is altered in the morning…and I’m blaming the Keebler elves…I just know that the work is going to eventually become what I have directed it to be…and some of what happens…I haven’t thought of yet…and might not until a few seconds before it does…

painting has become more of an adventure…and less of a process…that was the most recent… “Y”…in the road that I encountered…one read “Adventure”…the other…“Process”…I opted left…for “adventure”…

my feelings on the “adventure” mode of painting…are much different than the “process” mode…Adventure has rules…just less of them…there is greater risk…yet greater risk dictates greater rewards…which in turn…can change everything…adventure has unknown variables…which certainly challenge the good old boy process thinking…basically doing more of what I don’t know how to do…or am uncertain of doing expands my ability and offers me many more options than those I already know….

As artists we can each certainly identify what we do and the frequency of doing it…defining our rules for producing art can open the possibilities for defying those same rules…in essence by knowing what we do…we can change what we do….

My challenge to you is identify and define your rules for whatever it is you produce…take one day…or maybe one hour and break all of those rules…see what happens…make the process into the adventure of art…you just might find yourself doing something you never thought you would….

countdown for November 18th, 2011 Show, “The Space in Between”

294 paintings of 800….506 remaining

“For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” – Robert Louise Stevenson

2 thoughts on “550. July 19… “A work of art is above all an adventure of the mind.”…

Leave a Reply

